SB 1062 http://knau.org en SB 1062 Proponents Met With Governor’s Staff Prior to Legislative Session http://knau.org/post/sb-1062-proponents-met-governor-s-staff-prior-legislative-session <p>Top aides to Gov. Jan Brewer sought and got proponents of a “religious liberty” bill to make changes to SB 1062 — and then the Governor vetoed it more than a month later. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Mon, 10 Mar 2014 15:14:39 +0000 Howard Fischer 44384 at http://knau.org SB 1062 Proponents Met With Governor’s Staff Prior to Legislative Session Gov. Brewer Vetoes SB 1062 http://knau.org/post/gov-brewer-vetoes-sb-1062 <p>Rejecting last minute pleas from its supporters, Gov. Jan Brewer vetoed late Wednesday controversial legislation billed as protecting religious freedom. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Thu, 27 Feb 2014 15:39:49 +0000 Howard Fischer 43986 at http://knau.org Gov. Brewer Vetoes SB 1062 SB 1062 Author Makes a Final Appeal to the Governor for Bill Passage http://knau.org/post/sb-1062-author-makes-final-appeal-governor-bill-passage <p>The author of the controversial legislation about religion and discrimination made a last-ditch effort this afternoon to convince Gov. Jan Brewer to sign it. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 22:33:18 +0000 Howard Fischer 43964 at http://knau.org SB 1062 Author Makes a Final Appeal to the Governor for Bill Passage Governor to Hear Final Word on SB 1062 Before Making Decision http://knau.org/post/governor-hear-final-word-sb-1062-making-decision <p>Proponents of the controversial bill SB 1062 will get a last chance today to convince Gov. Jan Brewer to sign the legislation. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 15:25:42 +0000 Howard Fischer 43930 at http://knau.org Governor to Hear Final Word on SB 1062 Before Making Decision State Senator Al Melvin Defends SB 1062 Amid Increasing Protests Against the Law http://knau.org/post/state-senator-al-melvin-defends-sb-1062-amid-increasing-protests-against-law <p>While most Arizona business leaders and politicians are urging the governor to veto SB 1062 at least one state legislator is standing by his vote. As Arizona Public Radio’s Parker Olson reports, Senator Al Melvin took to the national airwaves to defend the bill.</p><p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 21:46:39 +0000 Parker Olson 43912 at http://knau.org State Senator Al Melvin Defends SB 1062 Amid Increasing Protests Against the Law Three State Senators Who Voted for SB 1062 Now Favor a Veto http://knau.org/post/three-state-senators-who-voted-sb-1062-now-favor-veto <p>Three Republican state senators who voted for SB 1062 are now on record opposed to what’s been billed as a religious-freedom measure. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 22:57:12 +0000 Howard Fischer 43870 at http://knau.org Three State Senators Who Voted for SB 1062 Now Favor a Veto Hundreds Gather at Flagstaff City Hall to Protest SB 1062 http://knau.org/post/hundreds-gather-flagstaff-city-hall-protest-sb-1062 <p>Yesterday, hundreds of people gathered outside Flagstaff City Hall in protest of the Arizona state legislature’s passage of SB 1062. As Arizona Public Radio’s Ryan Heinsius reports, the protest was organized by two current members of the Flagstaff City Council.</p><p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Ryan Heinsius 43824 at http://knau.org Hundreds Gather at Flagstaff City Hall to Protest SB 1062 Economic Development Group Urges Gov. Brewer to Veto Religion Law http://knau.org/post/economic-development-group-urges-gov-brewer-veto-religion-law <p>The head of a major economic development group is urging Gov. Jan Brewer to veto legislation expanding the ability of businesses to use their religion to deny services to gays — and maybe others. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 22:05:42 +0000 Howard Fischer 43761 at http://knau.org Economic Development Group Urges Gov. Brewer to Veto Religion Law Religious Freedom Bill Riles Gay Rights Supporters and Goes to Governor http://knau.org/post/religious-freedom-bill-riles-gay-rights-supporters-and-goes-governor <p>Gov. Jan Brewer is going to get the last word on whether business owners can cite their religion as a reason to turn away gays — and maybe others. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 15:34:44 +0000 Howard Fischer 43719 at http://knau.org Religious Freedom Bill Riles Gay Rights Supporters and Goes to Governor State Senate Votes to Allow Businesses Right to Refuse Services to Gays http://knau.org/post/state-senate-votes-allow-businesses-right-refuse-services-gays <p>State senators voted along party lines this afternoon to allow businesses to claim religious rights to refuse to serve gays — and against extending civil rights laws to gays. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 23:35:42 +0000 Howard Fischer 43662 at http://knau.org State Senate Votes to Allow Businesses Right to Refuse Services to Gays