Child Protective Services http://knau.org en Gov. Brewer Finalizes the Creation of the Department of Child Safety http://knau.org/post/gov-brewer-finalizes-creation-department-child-safety <p>Gov. Jan Brewer signed legislation this afternoon creating a new Department of Child Safety. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Thu, 29 May 2014 23:08:39 +0000 Howard Fischer 48106 at http://knau.org Gov. Brewer Finalizes the Creation of the Department of Child Safety State Senate Gives Nod to New Department of Child Safety http://knau.org/post/state-senate-gives-nod-new-department-child-safety <p>State senators voted Wednesday to create and fund a new Department of Child Safety. But, Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports there was some debate about the details.</p><p> Thu, 29 May 2014 11:30:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 48075 at http://knau.org State Senate Gives Nod to New Department of Child Safety Lawmakers Continue to Debate CPS Overhaul http://knau.org/post/lawmakers-continue-debate-cps-overhaul <p>State lawmakers spent the day today picking apart the plan to create and fund a new Department of Child Safety. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Wed, 28 May 2014 23:07:58 +0000 Howard Fischer 48053 at http://knau.org Lawmakers Continue to Debate CPS Overhaul Legislature Debates CPS Funding in Special Session http://knau.org/post/legislature-debates-cps-funding-special-session <p>Lawmakers began a special session this afternoon focused on child welfare. But, as Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports, those who want to do more now to prevent abuse and neglect in the first place are going to have to wait.</p><p> Tue, 27 May 2014 23:13:36 +0000 Howard Fischer 47996 at http://knau.org Legislature Debates CPS Funding in Special Session State Lawmakers To Consider Child Welfare Overhaul http://knau.org/post/state-lawmakers-consider-child-welfare-overhaul <p>State lawmakers return to the Capitol today to consider the plan by Gov. Jan Brewer for a new child welfare agency. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Tue, 27 May 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 47961 at http://knau.org State Lawmakers To Consider Child Welfare Overhaul Gov. Brewer Vetoes Child Welfare Study Bill http://knau.org/post/gov-brewer-vetoes-child-welfare-study-bill <p>Gov. Jan Brewer vetoed legislation Wednesday to have a quarter-million-dollar outside study of the state’s child welfare agency. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Thu, 01 May 2014 11:49:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 46806 at http://knau.org Gov. Brewer Vetoes Child Welfare Study Bill State Workers Fired for Child Welfare Case Mismanagement http://knau.org/post/state-workers-fired-child-welfare-case-mismanagement <p>Six state workers associated with the ignoring of nearly 6,600 reports of child abuse were fired today. Arizona Public Radio's Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 22:48:11 +0000 Howard Fischer 46459 at http://knau.org State Workers Fired for Child Welfare Case Mismanagement Systematic Failure Found at Child Protective Services http://knau.org/post/systematic-failure-found-child-protective-services <p>A special team named to find out what led to 6,500 cases of child abuse going uninvestigated concluded Friday there was a systematic failure requiring a total revamp of how the state handles child welfare. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Fri, 31 Jan 2014 22:00:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 42937 at http://knau.org Systematic Failure Found at Child Protective Services CPS Funding Approved, But is it Enough? http://knau.org/post/cps-funding-approved-it-enough <p>State lawmakers gave final approval this afternoon for additional funding for the new child welfare agency. But, Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports there was some grumbling.</p><p> Thu, 30 Jan 2014 15:30:12 +0000 Howard Fischer 42839 at http://knau.org CPS Funding Approved, But is it Enough? Lawmakers Make Move to Boost Child Protective Services Funds http://knau.org/post/lawmakers-make-move-boost-child-protective-services-funds <p>A Senate panel voted Tuesday to provide more funds for the state’s child welfare agency. But, Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports there were objections.</p><p> Wed, 29 Jan 2014 15:23:33 +0000 Howard Fischer 42735 at http://knau.org Lawmakers Make Move to Boost Child Protective Services Funds