Granite Mountain Hotshots http://knau.org en Bill Protects Cities from Settlements After Deaths of Safety Personnel http://knau.org/post/bill-protects-cities-settlements-after-deaths-safety-personnel <p>Gov. Brewer has signed a bill shielding cities and towns from large settlements relating to death or serious injury of public safety employees. As Arizona Public Radio’s Ryan Heinsius reports, the bill was inspired by the deaths of 19 firefighters last summer during the Yarnell Hill Fire.</p><p> Fri, 02 May 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Ryan Heinsius 46833 at http://knau.org Bill Protects Cities from Settlements After Deaths of Safety Personnel Arizona's U.S. Senators Request Wildfire Help from Federal Government http://knau.org/post/arizonas-us-senators-request-wildfire-help-federal-government <p>Over the weekend, crews battled the first major wildfire of the year in northern Arizona. As Arizona Public Radio’s Ryan Heinsius reports, just days before the fire broke out both of the state’s U.S. senators urged the federal government to fast-track thinning projects.</p><p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Ryan Heinsius 46023 at http://knau.org Arizona's U.S. Senators Request Wildfire Help from Federal Government State Forestry Division Vague About Post-Yarnell Hill Firefighting Changes http://knau.org/post/state-forestry-division-vague-about-post-yarnell-hill-firefighting-changes <p>The state is entering the wildfire season with the Forestry Division still facing charges of violating worker safety rules last year resulting in the deaths at Yarnell Hill. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 11:59:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 45513 at http://knau.org State Forestry Division Vague About Post-Yarnell Hill Firefighting Changes Yarnell Lessons Slow To Emerge http://knau.org/post/yarnell-lessons-slow-emerge <p>For this story I assumed there were lessons to be learned from the Yarnell Hill Fire. But when I called Stephen Pyne, a fire historian at Arizona State University, he said, “for all of the sort of graphic and horrible qualities of the fire that made it so compelling to the general public, I don’t think it taught the fire community anything.”</p><p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 16:23:43 +0000 Laurel Morales 45340 at http://knau.org Yarnell Lessons Slow To Emerge Northern Arizona’s Forest Managers Focus on Firefighter Safety http://knau.org/post/northern-arizona-s-forest-managers-focus-firefighter-safety <p>Last summer’s Yarnell Hill Fire was the deadliest ever for Arizona wildland firefighters. Arizona Public Radio’s Ryan Heinsius reports that, as a result, forest managers in northern Arizona are focusing on safety.</p><p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Ryan Heinsius 45171 at http://knau.org Northern Arizona’s Forest Managers Focus on Firefighter Safety Funding for Granite Mountain Hotshots Memorial Approved http://knau.org/post/funding-granite-mountain-hotshots-memorial-approved <p>A bill funding a memorial site honoring the 19 Granite Mountain Hotshots who died last year’s Yarnell Hill Fire has been passed by a committee in the Arizona House. As Arizona Public Radio’s Parker Olson reports, the representatives also created a committee to oversee the project.</p><p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Parker Olson 43592 at http://knau.org Funding for Granite Mountain Hotshots Memorial Approved Sole Survivor Of Yarnell Hill Fire Takes Job In Idaho http://knau.org/post/sole-survivor-yarnell-hill-fire-takes-job-idaho <p>The sole survivor of last summer's deadly Yarnell Hill Fire has resigned as an Arizona firefighter to take a job in Idaho. As Arizona Public Radio's Gillian Ferris reports, Brendan McDonough will be working with wildland firefighters suffering from Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.</p><p> Fri, 07 Feb 2014 12:15:00 +0000 Gillian Ferris 43102 at http://knau.org Sole Survivor Of Yarnell Hill Fire Takes Job In Idaho A Tragic Year For Wildland Firefighters Ends In Reflection http://knau.org/post/tragic-year-wildland-firefighters-ends-reflection Thirty-four wildland firefighters died in the line of duty this year. Some of those fatalities were isolated incidents, but one event captured the nation's attention, sparking a larger conversation about the new dangers firefighters face.<p>That event unfolded in central Arizona the afternoon of June 30, a Sunday.<p>"I'm here with Granite Mountain Hot Shots. Our escape route has been cut off," says a crew boss on recently released radio traffic from the Yarnell Hill Fire. Sat, 28 Dec 2013 14:48:00 +0000 Kirk Siegler 41516 at http://knau.org A Tragic Year For Wildland Firefighters Ends In Reflection Systemic Safety and Planning Problems Led to Yarnell Hill Deaths http://knau.org/post/systemic-safety-and-planning-problems-led-yarnell-hill-deaths <p>A long-awaited report Wednesday on the Yarnell Hill Fire from last June finally provided at least some answers as to how — and more importantly why — 19 hotshots died. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer takes a closer look.</p><p> Thu, 05 Dec 2013 17:50:41 +0000 Howard Fischer 40588 at http://knau.org Systemic Safety and Planning Problems Led to Yarnell Hill Deaths State Forestry Division Fined for Yarnell Hill Fire Deaths http://knau.org/post/state-forestry-division-fined-yarnell-hill-fire-deaths <p>The state Industrial Commission Wednesday imposed the maximum $559,000 fine possible on the state Forestry Division following the deaths of 19 firefighters earlier this year at Yarnell Hill. Arizona Public Radio's Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Thu, 05 Dec 2013 17:19:16 +0000 Howard Fischer 40584 at http://knau.org State Forestry Division Fined for Yarnell Hill Fire Deaths