Arizona Legislature http://knau.org en Fired U-of-A Medical Marijuana Researcher Appealing Dismissal http://knau.org/post/fired-u-medical-marijuana-researcher-appealing-dismissal <p>A University of Arizona doctor and researcher whose contract was not renewed is not going quietly. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 06:08:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 50320 at http://knau.org Fired U-of-A Medical Marijuana Researcher Appealing Dismissal Gov. Brewer Contemplates Who She’ll Support In Upcoming Elections http://knau.org/post/gov-brewer-contemplates-who-she-ll-support-upcoming-elections <p>Gov. Jan Brewer is building up a political warchest to help influence who controls the Legislature for the next two years — and potentially who succeeds her. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 22:52:19 +0000 Howard Fischer 49665 at http://knau.org Gov. Brewer Contemplates Who She’ll Support In Upcoming Elections Panel Votes to Give the State Legislature an $11,000 a Year Raise http://knau.org/post/panel-votes-give-state-legislature-11000-year-raise <p>A special panel agreed this morning to ask voters whether to give state lawmakers an $11,000-a-year raise. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 22:10:01 +0000 Howard Fischer 49336 at http://knau.org Panel Votes to Give the State Legislature an $11,000 a Year Raise State Sen. Al Melvin to Drop Bid in Republican Gubernatorial Primary http://knau.org/post/state-sen-al-melvin-drop-bid-republican-gubernatorial-primary <p>Arizona state senator Al Melvin has announced he’s pulling out of the primary. As Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer, Melvin failed to gather enough small donations to make his campaign eligible for public funding.</p><p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 22:40:07 +0000 Howard Fischer 49212 at http://knau.org State Sen. Al Melvin to Drop Bid in Republican Gubernatorial Primary Two Republican Gubernatorial Candidates Face Public Funding Woes http://knau.org/post/two-republican-gubernatorial-candidates-face-public-funding-woes <p>Candidates for the Republican gubernatorial primary race are facing funding challenges. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 22:36:45 +0000 Howard Fischer 49105 at http://knau.org Two Republican Gubernatorial Candidates Face Public Funding Woes The Governor Criticizes State Income Tax Elimination Proposals http://knau.org/post/governor-criticizes-state-income-tax-elimination-proposals <p>Gov. Jan Brewer does not think much of proposals by some of those who would succeed her to eliminate the state income tax. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 15:29:56 +0000 Howard Fischer 49018 at http://knau.org The Governor Criticizes State Income Tax Elimination Proposals Gov. Brewer Mulls an Anti-Gay Discrimination Law http://knau.org/post/gov-brewer-mulls-anti-gay-discrimination-law <p>Gov. Jan Brewer said Tuesday it may be time to consider whether the state should ban discrimination against gays. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 11:59:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 48957 at http://knau.org Gov. Brewer Mulls an Anti-Gay Discrimination Law State Legislator Pushes Plan on Out-of-State Migrants http://knau.org/post/state-legislator-pushes-plan-out-state-migrants <p>A state lawmaker has come up with her own plan to deal with migrants being shipped here from Texas. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Mon, 16 Jun 2014 16:25:13 +0000 Howard Fischer 48850 at http://knau.org State Legislator Pushes Plan on Out-of-State Migrants Maricopa County Attorney Calls for Tom Horne’s Resignation http://knau.org/post/maricopa-county-attorney-calls-tom-horne-s-resignation <p>A twitter battle has resulted in Maricopa County Attorney Bill Montgomery becoming the first elected GOP official asking fellow Republican Tom Horne to resign as attorney general. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Thu, 12 Jun 2014 11:59:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 48680 at http://knau.org Maricopa County Attorney Calls for Tom Horne’s Resignation Environmental Official Asks Lawmakers to Rescind Greenhouse Gas Regulation Block http://knau.org/post/environmental-official-asks-lawmakers-rescind-greenhouse-gas-regulation-block <p>The state’s top environmental official asked lawmakers Monday to remove a restriction they placed on his agency just four years ago blocking it from regulating greenhouse gases. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 15:24:55 +0000 Howard Fischer 48625 at http://knau.org Environmental Official Asks Lawmakers to Rescind Greenhouse Gas Regulation Block