Border http://knau.org en ACLU Files Suit Claiming Civil Rights Abuses by Border Patrol http://knau.org/post/aclu-files-suit-claiming-civil-rights-abuses-border-patrol <p>Claiming a pattern of civil rights abuse, the American Civil Liberties Union filed suit today in federal court to find out exactly how the Border Patrol enforces immigration law far from Mexico. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Mon, 28 Apr 2014 22:47:05 +0000 Howard Fischer 46682 at http://knau.org ACLU Files Suit Claiming Civil Rights Abuses by Border Patrol State Senate Panel Votes for $30 Million Virtual Border Fence http://knau.org/post/state-senate-panel-votes-30-million-virtual-border-fence <p>A Senate panel voted Tuesday to take the first steps to having taxpayers spend $30 million to build a virtual border fence. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 11:58:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 45131 at http://knau.org State Senate Panel Votes for $30 Million Virtual Border Fence Immigrant Rights Groups Fight SB 1070 Harboring and Transporting Provision http://knau.org/post/immigrant-rights-groups-fight-sb-1070-harboring-and-transporting-provision <p>Attorneys for immigrant rights groups asked the U.S. Supreme Court Monday to rebuff a last-ditch attempt by the state to start prosecuting people for harboring and transporting those not in the country legally. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 17:09:20 +0000 Howard Fischer 44445 at http://knau.org Immigrant Rights Groups Fight SB 1070 Harboring and Transporting Provision Legislators Propose Spending $30 Million for Border Webcams http://knau.org/post/legislators-propose-spending-30-million-border-webcams <p>State taxpayers may spend $30 million determine if the federal government is living up to its commitment to secure the border. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Tue, 18 Feb 2014 15:30:04 +0000 Howard Fischer 43583 at http://knau.org Legislators Propose Spending $30 Million for Border Webcams Brain Food: 'Musical' No Mas Muertes http://knau.org/post/brain-food-musical-no-mas-muertes <p>No Mas Muertes - or No More Deaths - is an Arizona-based advocacy group that provides humanitarian relief along the U.S.-Mexico border. Since 2004, the group has offered food, water and medical attention to immigrants trying to illegally cross the border from Mexico. And now, the group has a musical component.</p><p> Thu, 21 Nov 2013 16:47:02 +0000 Bonnie Stevens 40029 at http://knau.org Brain Food: 'Musical' No Mas Muertes Gov Brewer Will Know a Secure Border When She Sees It http://knau.org/post/gov-brewer-will-know-secure-border-when-she-sees-it <p>Gov. Jan Brewer can't put a specific definition on what it means to have a secure border. But&nbsp;she said today those living along the boundary with Mexico will know it when it happens. Mon, 07 Jan 2013 23:03:16 +0000 Howard Fischer 25586 at http://knau.org National Guard to Stay at the Border http://knau.org/post/national-guard-stay-border <p>The initial deployment of 12-hundred soldiers in 2010 was supposed to last only a year while the Border Patrol hired and trained staff. Fri, 07 Dec 2012 18:49:02 +0000 Howard Fischer & howard 24349 at http://knau.org US Issues Another Mexico Travel Warning http://knau.org/post/us-issues-another-mexico-travel-warning <p>The State Department has renewed its <a href="http://travel.state.gov/travel/cis_pa_tw/tw/tw_5815.html"><u><font color="#0066cc">travel warning</font></u></a> for Mexico, saying that drug violence there can be a danger to Americans. Wed, 21 Nov 2012 22:53:24 +0000 Michel Marizco 23717 at http://knau.org