colorado river http://knau.org en Scott Thybony's Grand Canyon Commentary: River Dogs http://knau.org/post/scott-thybonys-grand-canyon-commentary-river-dogs <p>Northern Arizona is full of river runners, many of whom take their dogs downriver with them. Whether it's the Verde or the Salt River, many a mutt has gone along for the ride. And though dogs aren't allowed on the Colorado River in the Grand Canyon, commentator Scott Thybony says that doesn't mean it hasn't been done.</p><p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 18:04:58 +0000 Scott Thybony 45463 at http://knau.org Scott Thybony's Grand Canyon Commentary: River Dogs No Upstream River Trips For Hualapai Tribe http://knau.org/post/no-upstream-river-trips-hualapai-tribe <p>The Hualapai tribe has temporarily postponed upriver rafting trips in the Grand Canyon. As Arizona Public Radio’s Parker Olson reports, the suspension comes after the National Park Service voiced concerns about upriver travel.</p><p> Fri, 07 Feb 2014 00:00:59 +0000 Parker Olson 43124 at http://knau.org No Upstream River Trips For Hualapai Tribe Controversial Development at the Confluence Takes a Step Forward http://knau.org/post/controversial-development-confluence-takes-step-forward <p>A proposed development project near the confluence of the Colorado and Little Colorado rivers is one step closer to becoming a reality. But, as Arizona Public Radio’s Ryan Heinsius reports, several key questions still remain about the controversial, multimillion-dollar development.</p><p> Fri, 31 Jan 2014 16:00:31 +0000 Ryan Heinsius 42841 at http://knau.org Controversial Development at the Confluence Takes a Step Forward River Running Record Attempt Aborted http://knau.org/post/river-running-record-attempt-aborted <p>Update Wednesday 11-21-12 10:06 am:&nbsp; Harlan Taney has aborted his attempt to break the speed record for boating down the Colorado River through the Grand Canyon.&nbsp; Wed, 21 Nov 2012 17:15:23 +0000 KNAU Staff 23688 at http://knau.org Flagstaff Man Tries to Break Colorado River Running Record http://knau.org/post/flagstaff-man-tries-break-colorado-river-running-record <p>While most of us were sleeping last night, a Flagstaff man was out to break a record. Wed, 21 Nov 2012 16:19:00 +0000 23662 at http://knau.org Flagstaff Man Tries to Break Colorado River Running Record US And Mexico Make Water History http://knau.org/post/us-and-mexico-make-water-history <p>The <a href="http://www.ibwc.state.gov/"><u><font color="#0066cc">United States and Mexico</font></u></a> signed an historic agreement Tuesday to <a href="http://www.fronterasdesk.org/news/2012/nov/19/us-and-mexico-sign-landmark-colorado-river-agreeme/"><u><font color="#0066cc">ration and protect Colorado River water</font></u></a>. Wed, 21 Nov 2012 00:38:24 +0000 Laurel Morales 23666 at http://knau.org US, Mexico To Sign Landmark Colorado River Agreement http://knau.org/post/us-mexico-sign-landmark-colorado-river-agreement <p>The Hoover Dam was built to control the powerful Colorado River, which for many years flooded farms and cities. Mon, 19 Nov 2012 22:58:33 +0000 Laurel Morales 23596 at http://knau.org US, Mexico To Sign Landmark Colorado River Agreement The Humpback Chub is Making a Comeback http://knau.org/post/humpback-chub-making-comeback <p>There was a time when scientists feared the demise of an ugly little fish called humpback chub, which has lived in southwestern rivers for millions of years. One of its last holdouts is in the Grand Canyon section of the Colorado River at a major tributary, the Little Colorado. Glen Canyon Dam took its toll on the little fish, and by the late 1990s, its population plummeted to a few thousand.</p><div><p>But these days, the humpback chub appears to be making a comeback.</p> Thu, 26 Jul 2012 01:31:05 +0000 Anne Minard 17526 at http://knau.org The Humpback Chub is Making a Comeback Simulated Floods Designed To Mitigate Dam Impacts http://knau.org/post/simulated-floods-designed-mitigate-dam-impacts <p>The Colorado River is about to run wild again, at least a couple times a year. In May, Interior Secretary Ken Salazar approved a <a href="http://www.usbr.gov/uc/envdocs/ea/gc/HFEProtocol/index.html"><u><font color="#0066cc">series of simulated floods</font></u></a> -- releasing huge amounts of water and sediment from the Glen Canyon Dam over the next several years. It&rsquo;s all part of a long-studied effort to restore the river environment downstream.</p> Thu, 05 Jul 2012 22:34:36 +0000 16530 at http://knau.org Simulated Floods Designed To Mitigate Dam Impacts Earth Notes: Exploring Fish Ecology in the Colorado River Drainage http://knau.org/post/earth-notes-exploring-fish-ecology-colorado-river-drainage <p>Over the past hundred years, people have introduced dozens of non-native fish species into the Colorado River&nbsp;and its tributaries. During that time, populations of native fish species have dropped, in some cases dramatically. It&rsquo;s easy to guess at the causes of native species decline, like predation and competition for food. But it&rsquo;s far more difficult to prove.</p> Wed, 01 Feb 2012 07:00:00 +0000 Alexandra Murphy 8237 at http://knau.org Earth Notes: Exploring Fish Ecology in the Colorado River Drainage