Mexican gray wolf http://knau.org en Earth Notes: Helping Mexican Wolves Get a Good Start http://knau.org/post/earth-notes-helping-mexican-wolves-get-good-start <p>Foster parents help a lot of kids from difficult backgrounds in getting a better start in life. Now they’re also helping a rare species that’s been struggling to gain a foothold in the Southwestern wilds.</p><p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 17:20:04 +0000 Peter Frederici 49296 at http://knau.org Earth Notes: Helping Mexican Wolves Get a Good Start Officials Investigate Death of Endangered Mexican Gray Wolf in Arizona http://knau.org/post/officials-investigate-death-endangered-mexican-gray-wolf-arizona <p>Wildlife managers are investigating the death of an endangered Mexican grey wolf in the White Mountains. As Arizona Public Radio’s Ryan Heinsius reports, the announcement comes soon after unsuccessful moves in the state to halt the reintroduction of the animals in the Southwest.</p><p> Thu, 01 May 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Ryan Heinsius 46786 at http://knau.org Officials Investigate Death of Endangered Mexican Gray Wolf in Arizona State Lawmakers Move Forward on Wolf-Killing Bills http://knau.org/post/state-lawmakers-move-forward-wolf-killing-bills <p>State lawmakers moved on two fronts Wednesday to let ranchers shoot the Mexican gray wolves being reintroduced to the Southwest despite their listing under federal law as endangered. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 11:59:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 46150 at http://knau.org State Lawmakers Move Forward on Wolf-Killing Bills State Legislature Attempts to Limit Federal Wolf Reintroduction http://knau.org/post/state-legislature-attempts-limit-federal-wolf-reintroduction <p>Last week, two Mexican gray wolves were released in Arizona. But, as Arizona Public Radio’s Ryan Heinsius reports, a simultaneous effort is underway in the state Legislature to let ranchers kill the endangered animals in defense of livestock.</p><p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Ryan Heinsius 45690 at http://knau.org State Legislature Attempts to Limit Federal Wolf Reintroduction Wolf-Kill Reimbursement Raises Hackles of Ranchers http://knau.org/post/wolf-kill-reimbursement-raises-hackles-ranchers <p>A northern Arizona lawmaker wants to put the state in charge of giving out federal dollars to ranchers who lose cattle to wolves. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Mon, 27 Jan 2014 15:33:59 +0000 Howard Fischer 42641 at http://knau.org Wolf-Kill Reimbursement Raises Hackles of Ranchers US Fish and Wildlife to Kill Gray Wolf http://knau.org/post/us-fish-and-wildlife-kill-gray-wolf <p>The US Fish and Wildlife Service has signed an order calling for the shooting of a Mexican gray wolf.</p><p>The Agency says the female wolf has been killing too many cows in Southwestern New Mexico.</p><p>It&#39;s the first time in 5 years that the Fish and Wildlife Service will be killing a wolf due to behavior problems.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 10 Aug 2012 18:36:11 +0000 Terry Ward 18425 at http://knau.org