Ann Kirkpatrick http://knau.org en Fundraising Boost for Rep. Kirkpatrick Despite Negative Ads http://knau.org/post/fundraising-boost-rep-kirkpatrick-despite-negative-ads <p>Despite a recent wave of attack ads criticizing Representative Ann Kirkpatrick, the congresswoman had a stronger fundraising quarter than her Republican opponents looking to unseat her in 2014. As Arizona Public Radio’s Ryan Heinsius reports, Rep. Kirkpatrick also recently received a high-profile endorsement.</p><p> Wed, 05 Feb 2014 15:37:36 +0000 Ryan Heinsius 43034 at http://knau.org Fundraising Boost for Rep. Kirkpatrick Despite Negative Ads Associated Press Calls Kirkpatrick the Winner in CD1 http://knau.org/post/associated-press-calls-kirkpatrick-winner-cd1 <p><font size="5">Former Democratic Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick has defeated former Republican state lawmaker Jonathan Paton to win Arizona's 1st Congressional District seat. Wed, 07 Nov 2012 22:46:10 +0000 Associated Press 23058 at http://knau.org Associated Press Calls Kirkpatrick the Winner in CD1 Poli-Sci Prof Thinks Red AZ May Change Hue on Election Day http://knau.org/post/poli-sci-prof-thinks-red-az-may-change-hue-election-day <p dir="LTR"><font size="5">In case you haven't heard, there’s an election tomorrow.</font></p><p dir="LTR"><font size="5">And we thought we check in with Northern Arizona University Politics Professor Fred Solop to see what he’ll be watching for as the results start to come in.</font></p><p><font size="5">He says&nbsp;he thinks deeply red Arizona may have a slightly different color on Wednesday morning. </font></p> Mon, 05 Nov 2012 20:31:16 +0000 Mark Bevis 22867 at http://knau.org Independent Orgs More Than Double Campaign Spending in CD1 http://knau.org/post/independent-orgs-more-double-campaign-spending-cd1 <p>According to the Federal Election Commission, independent organizations have reported spending nearly $3.5 million to influence the results in Arizona’s CD1.</p><p>The district stretches across northern and eastern Arizona and includes Flagstaff.</p><p>That $3.5 million&nbsp;is more than a million more than the republican and democrat have spent on their own campaigns.</p><p>Because of the 2010 Supreme Court decision, Citizens United, those independent groups don’t have to disclose where that money is coming from.</p> Thu, 18 Oct 2012 23:02:02 +0000 Mark Bevis 22006 at http://knau.org Independent Orgs More Than Double Campaign Spending in CD1 Kirkpatrick Outraises, Outspends Paton 2 to 1 http://knau.org/post/kirkpatrick-outraises-outspends-paton-2-1 <p>The Federal Election Commission has released the latest campaign finance reports. Thu, 18 Oct 2012 21:28:12 +0000 Mark Bevis 22002 at http://knau.org Kirkpatrick Outraises, Outspends Paton 2 to 1 Medicare Will Likely Pull Voters to the Polls http://knau.org/post/medicare-will-likely-pull-voters-polls <p>One of the central battles playing out in the upcoming elections is who’s got the best plan for Medicare. Tue, 04 Sep 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Mark Bevis 19589 at http://knau.org Kirkpatrick and Paton to Face off in CD1 in November http://knau.org/post/kirkpatrick-and-paton-face-cd1-november <p>By a nearly 2 to 1 margin, Ann Kirkpatrick swept the democratic primary in Congresssional District 1 yesterday. Wed, 29 Aug 2012 17:44:33 +0000 Mark Bevis 19421 at http://knau.org AZ's 1st Cong. District is the 10th Largest in the Country, Making Campaigning Challenging http://knau.org/post/azs-1st-cong-district-10th-largest-country-making-campaigning-challenging <p>Arizona&rsquo;s newly drawn 1st Congressional District is the size of Pennsylvania. It&rsquo;s the tenth largest in the nation, taking up almost two-thirds of the state, from the Arizona-Utah border all the way down the eastern half of the state to just north of Tucson. That makes it tricky for candidates to campaign.</p> Mon, 06 Aug 2012 11:00:00 +0000 18000 at http://knau.org AZ's 1st Cong. District is the 10th Largest in the Country, Making Campaigning Challenging First Navajo Woman Runs For Congress http://knau.org/post/first-navajo-woman-runs-congress <p>Arizona&rsquo;s <a href="http://azredistricting.org/Maps/Final-Maps/Congressional/Maps/Final%20Congressional%20Districts%20-%20Statewide%208x11.jpg"><u><font color="#0066cc">newly drawn</font></u></a> Congressional District 1 includes more Native Americans than any other district in the country. That sets the stage for a historic first &mdash; an American Indian woman serving in Congress.</p> Thu, 02 Aug 2012 16:01:42 +0000 17896 at http://knau.org First Navajo Woman Runs For Congress