forest fire http://knau.org en Northern Arizona’s Forest Managers Focus on Firefighter Safety http://knau.org/post/northern-arizona-s-forest-managers-focus-firefighter-safety <p>Last summer’s Yarnell Hill Fire was the deadliest ever for Arizona wildland firefighters. Arizona Public Radio’s Ryan Heinsius reports that, as a result, forest managers in northern Arizona are focusing on safety.</p><p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Ryan Heinsius 45171 at http://knau.org Northern Arizona’s Forest Managers Focus on Firefighter Safety After a Very Dry Winter, Forest Managers Prepare for Fire Season http://knau.org/post/after-very-dry-winter-forest-managers-prepare-fire-season <p>This winter was the sixth driest on record for northern Arizona. As Arizona Public Radio’s Ryan Heinsius reports, managers on all area national forests are preparing for what could be a very busy fire season.</p><p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Ryan Heinsius 45108 at http://knau.org After a Very Dry Winter, Forest Managers Prepare for Fire Season Sole Survivor Of Yarnell Hill Fire Takes Job In Idaho http://knau.org/post/sole-survivor-yarnell-hill-fire-takes-job-idaho <p>The sole survivor of last summer's deadly Yarnell Hill Fire has resigned as an Arizona firefighter to take a job in Idaho. As Arizona Public Radio's Gillian Ferris reports, Brendan McDonough will be working with wildland firefighters suffering from Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.</p><p> Fri, 07 Feb 2014 12:15:00 +0000 Gillian Ferris 43102 at http://knau.org Sole Survivor Of Yarnell Hill Fire Takes Job In Idaho Brain Food: The Rapidly Shifting World of Forest Restoration http://knau.org/post/brain-food-rapidly-shifting-world-forest-restoration <p>The West is experiencing one of the driest winter stretches on record, and that’s got forest ecologists concerned about what these drought conditions will mean for fire season. Dr. Wally Covington is the executive director of the Ecological Restoration Institute at Northern Arizona University.</p><p> Thu, 06 Feb 2014 15:49:10 +0000 Bonnie Stevens 43092 at http://knau.org Brain Food: The Rapidly Shifting World of Forest Restoration Fire Study Stirs Controversy http://knau.org/post/fire-study-stirs-controversy <p>A controversial study that questions decades of forest ecology research has made headlines across the country. The study -- published earlier this year -- raised eyebrows especially in the west where forest managers have been trying to prevent severe wildfires for decades.</p> Fri, 05 Oct 2012 23:56:05 +0000 21376 at http://knau.org Fire Study Stirs Controversy Fire Starts by the Numbers http://knau.org/post/fire-starts-numbers <p>While New Mexico has received enough rain to lift some fire restrictions, other parts of the southwest are still dry. That makes them vulnerable to lightning sparked fires, as well as human caused fires.</p> Tue, 10 Jul 2012 22:47:30 +0000 16748 at http://knau.org