Affordable Care Act http://knau.org en Health Care Could Dry Up for Arizona's Long-term Unemployed http://knau.org/post/health-care-could-dry-arizonas-long-term-unemployed-0 <p>More than 140,000 of the state's long-term unemployed could eventually find themselves without health insurance. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 10:59:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 46204 at http://knau.org Health Care Could Dry Up for Arizona's Long-term Unemployed Health Care Could Dry Up for Arizona's Long-term Unemployed http://knau.org/post/health-care-could-dry-arizonas-long-term-unemployed <p>More than 140,000 of the state's long-term unemployed could eventually find themselves without health insurance. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 10:59:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 46203 at http://knau.org Health Care Could Dry Up for Arizona's Long-term Unemployed Navajo Nation Wants To Be 51st Medicaid State http://knau.org/post/navajo-nation-wants-be-51st-medicaid-state <p>The Navajo Nation wants to become the 51st Medicaid state. The <a href="http://www.hhs.gov/news/press/2010pres/03/20100326a.html"><u><font color="#0066cc">Affordable Care Act</font></u></a> has allowed them to study the idea. Thu, 17 Jan 2013 20:51:02 +0000 Laurel Morales 26042 at http://knau.org Business Leaders Support Gov's Plan to Expand Medicaid http://knau.org/post/business-leaders-support-govs-plan-expand-medicaid <p>Gov. Jan Brewer rallied hospital executive and business leaders Wednesday in her bid to expand the state's Medicaid program. Thu, 17 Jan 2013 17:51:52 +0000 Howard Fischer 26020 at http://knau.org Business Leaders Support Gov's Plan to Expand Medicaid Gov. Brewer Rejects State Designed Insurance Exchange http://knau.org/post/gov-brewer-rejects-state-designed-insurance-exchange <p>It will be the federal government and not the state that will be running the new health insurance exchanges. Thu, 29 Nov 2012 00:28:27 +0000 Howard Fischer 23981 at http://knau.org AZ's GOP Congressmen Vote to Repeal Affordable Care Act http://knau.org/post/azs-gop-congressmen-vote-repeal-affordable-care-act <p>Arizona&rsquo;s U-S House lawmakers voted along party lines in another Republican attempt to repeal the nation&rsquo;s health care law.&nbsp; The&nbsp;Democrats accuse the G-O-P of breaking their promise to replace the law, not merely repeal it.</p><p>Hours after the Supreme Court upheld the health law Republicans were preparing for the repeal vote. By some counts it&rsquo;s the thirty first time the House has voted to repeal all or part of the law. Arizona Democrat Raul Grijalva says the G-O-P is just trying to score political points while avoiding any attempt to reform the system.</p> Wed, 11 Jul 2012 22:57:52 +0000 Matt Laslo 16809 at http://knau.org Business Prof Says Health Care Law Won't Help http://knau.org/post/business-prof-says-health-care-law-wont-help <p>The U-S Supreme Court Thursday upheld the Affordable Care Act championed by President Barack Obama. But&nbsp;how could the&nbsp;ruling&nbsp;affect the health care industry and the state of Arizona.</p> Thu, 28 Jun 2012 23:24:17 +0000 Nick Blumberg 16199 at http://knau.org Affordable Care Act May Fill Rural Clinics http://knau.org/post/affordable-care-act-may-fill-rural-clinics <p>A rural clinic in Northern Arizona is bracing for an influx of patients once the details of today&rsquo;s&nbsp;Supreme Court ruling on healthcare shake out. Non-profit community health centers have long filled in the gaps of the nation&rsquo;s health system by taking care of uninsured or underinsured patients.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 28 Jun 2012 23:15:43 +0000 16197 at http://knau.org