DREAM Act http://knau.org en Judge Allows State to Block In-State Tuition for DREAMers http://knau.org/post/judge-allows-state-block-state-tuition-dreamers <p>A judge has given Gov. Jan Brewer the go-ahead to try to block policies that allow DREAMers to pay lower tuition at community colleges. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Wed, 30 Apr 2014 23:18:23 +0000 Howard Fischer 46789 at http://knau.org Judge Allows State to Block In-State Tuition for DREAMers Lawsuit Seeks to Prevent In-State Tuition for DACA Participants http://knau.org/post/lawsuit-seeks-prevent-state-tuition-daca-participants <p>An assistant attorney general told a judge today that Gov. Jan Brewer is entitled to go to court to enforce pretty much any state law she wants, even those that don’t involve state government. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Fri, 25 Apr 2014 23:29:23 +0000 Howard Fischer 46574 at http://knau.org Lawsuit Seeks to Prevent In-State Tuition for DACA Participants Challengers of License Denial Trying to Prove Actions are Illegal http://knau.org/post/challengers-license-denial-trying-prove-actions-are-illegal <p>Challengers to the state’s denial of driver’s licenses to “dreamers” want internal documents and testimony — perhaps even from Gov. Jan Brewer herself — in their legal bid to prove her actions are illegal. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Mon, 30 Dec 2013 17:29:13 +0000 Howard Fischer 41577 at http://knau.org Challengers of License Denial Trying to Prove Actions are Illegal Arizona's Driver's License Policy Creates Confusion http://knau.org/post/arizonas-drivers-license-policy-creates-confusion <p>State officials are going to grant driver's licenses to some people who aren’t in the country legally, even as they continue to deny the same privilege to "DREAMers.'' Arizona Public Radio's Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Tue, 24 Dec 2013 17:43:01 +0000 Howard Fischer 41386 at http://knau.org Arizona's Driver's License Policy Creates Confusion Court on Track to Toss Brewer License Denial for DREAMers http://knau.org/post/court-track-toss-brewer-license-denial-dreamers <p>A federal appeals court may be poised to void a decision by Gov. Jan Brewer to deny driver's licenses to "DREAMers'' the Obama administration has allowed to stay and work in this country. Arizona Public Radio's Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Mon, 16 Dec 2013 18:28:51 +0000 Howard Fischer 41053 at http://knau.org Court on Track to Toss Brewer License Denial for DREAMers State Lawmaker Wants to Amend Driver's License Law http://knau.org/post/state-lawmaker-wants-amend-drivers-license-law <p>A Phoenix lawmaker wants to spell out in statute that those in the president's deferred action program are entitled to state driver licenses. Fri, 11 Jan 2013 16:28:04 +0000 Howard Fischer 25774 at http://knau.org AZ's Denial of Driver's Licenses for Immigrants Goes to Court http://knau.org/post/azs-denial-drivers-licenses-immigrants-goes-court <p>The outcome of a lawsuit over whether certain illegal immigrants get state driver licenses is going to come down to a simple question: Are they authorized to be here.&nbsp; Fri, 30 Nov 2012 16:56:37 +0000 Howard Fischer 24057 at http://knau.org AZ's Denial of Driver's Licenses for Immigrants Goes to Court AZ Senator Introduces Revised Dream Act http://knau.org/post/az-senator-introduces-revised-dream-act <p>Arizona's two Republican senators are moving forward with their own effort to allow the children of undocumented immigrants to gain permanent residency in the U-S. Tue, 27 Nov 2012 23:42:10 +0000 Matt Laslo 23924 at http://knau.org Young Immigrants Protest Arizona Governor's Order http://knau.org/post/young-immigrants-protest-arizona-governors-order <p>Young undocumented immigrants in Arizona who began the day celebrating a new federal policy for deportation relief ended the day protesting. Thu, 16 Aug 2012 18:15:24 +0000 18769 at http://knau.org Young Immigrants Protest Arizona Governor's Order Governor Hampers Immigrants Applying for Deferred Prosecution http://knau.org/post/governor-hampers-immigrants-applying-deferred-prosecution <p>Gov. Jan Brewer moved today to block those who take advantage of the Obama administration&#39;s deferred prosecution program for illegal immigrants from getting public benefits or even driver licenses. Wed, 15 Aug 2012 23:58:01 +0000 Howard Fischer 18728 at http://knau.org Governor Hampers Immigrants Applying for Deferred Prosecution