school vouchers http://knau.org en State School Voucher System Suffers Potentially Fatal Setback http://knau.org/post/state-school-voucher-system-suffers-potentially-fatal-setback <p>A proposal to sharply expand the use of tax dollars to send students to private and parochial schools suffered a severe — and perhaps fatal — setback Thursday as the state House defeated the plan. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 10:58:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 46202 at http://knau.org State School Voucher System Suffers Potentially Fatal Setback State Legislature Could Expand School Voucher System http://knau.org/post/state-legislature-could-expand-school-voucher-system <p>Up to 120,000 more youngsters living in low-income neighborhoods could soon qualify for taxpayer-funded tuition to private and parochial schools. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 11:58:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 46149 at http://knau.org State Legislature Could Expand School Voucher System Arizona’s Voucher-Education Program Upheld by State’s High Court http://knau.org/post/arizona-s-voucher-education-program-upheld-state-s-high-court <p>The state’s high court today upheld a voucher-like system which uses public funds to send children to private and parochial schools. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 21:44:02 +0000 Howard Fischer 44943 at http://knau.org Arizona’s Voucher-Education Program Upheld by State’s High Court House Committee Votes to Boost Voucher Education http://knau.org/post/house-committee-votes-boost-voucher-education <p>The House Ways and Means Committee voted Monday to allow hundreds of thousands of children to attend private and parochial schools at public expense, a vote one legislator said is part of a radical agenda to destroy public schools. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Tue, 11 Feb 2014 15:57:08 +0000 Howard Fischer 43287 at http://knau.org House Committee Votes to Boost Voucher Education Move Underway to Expand State Education Voucher Program http://knau.org/post/move-underway-expand-state-education-voucher-program <p>Supporters of an existing limited voucher-like program for students are now moving to expand the plan to perhaps more than 400,000 youngsters statewide. Arizona Public Radio's Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 15:59:11 +0000 Howard Fischer 41868 at http://knau.org Move Underway to Expand State Education Voucher Program Governor Brewer Signs Bill to Use Public Funds to Pay for Private Schools http://knau.org/post/governor-brewer-signs-bill-use-public-funds-pay-private-schools <p>A new law signed this week by Gov. Jan Brewer could give an estimated 100,000 children in public schools a check from the state to go to a private or parochial school instead.&nbsp;</p><p>Under that law, any student whose school is rated a D or worse on overall academic performance qualifies for a voucher, good for about $4,000 a year. That covers 183 of 15-hundred schools that have been graded. Gubernatorial press aide Matthew Benson said that&#39;s not enough to pay tuition at many private schools -- and some families will not be able to take advantage of the program.</p> Thu, 17 May 2012 00:54:27 +0000 Howard Fischer 14019 at http://knau.org