KNAU and Arizona News http://knau.org en Fire Restrictions in Coconino County Parks Go into Effect Friday http://knau.org/post/fire-restrictions-coconino-county-parks-go-effect-friday <p>The following restrictions begin Fri, April 18 at 8 a.m.&nbsp; at all public Coconino County parks:</p><p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:17:07 +0000 KNAU staff 46180 at http://knau.org Fire Restrictions in Coconino County Parks Go into Effect Friday Brian Food: Designing Wildlife Corridors http://knau.org/post/brian-food-designing-wildlife-corridors <p>As highways, cities, canals and railroads continue to be built across the West, some natural landscapes are becoming fragmented into patches, too small to support populations of certain animals.</p><p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 16:44:07 +0000 Bonnie Stevens 46151 at http://knau.org Brian Food: Designing Wildlife Corridors Apache-Sitgreaves National Forests to Implement Stage 1 Fire Restrictions Tuesday http://knau.org/post/apache-sitgreaves-national-forests-implement-stage-1-fire-restrictions-tuesday <p>The Apache-Sitgreaves National Forests will implement stage 1 fire restrictions at 8 a.m. on Tue, April 22.</p><p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 02:14:00 +0000 KNAU staff 46124 at http://knau.org Apache-Sitgreaves National Forests to Implement Stage 1 Fire Restrictions Tuesday Area National Forests to Implement Campfire Restrictions Friday http://knau.org/post/area-national-forests-implement-campfire-restrictions-friday <p>On Friday, four area national forests will implement Stage 1 campfire and smoking restrictions in an attempt to lessen the danger of human-caused wildfire. As Arizona Public Radio’s Ryan Heinsius reports, it’s the earliest the bans have gone into effect in almost 10 years.</p><p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Ryan Heinsius 46075 at http://knau.org Area National Forests to Implement Campfire Restrictions Friday Flagstaff Authorities Search for Arson Suspect After Weekend Fires http://knau.org/post/flagstaff-authorities-search-arson-suspect-after-weekend-fires <p>Flagstaff authorities say two recent wildfires within the city limits, near lower Switzer Canyon, were the result of possible arson. According to the <em>Arizona Daily Sun</em>, the first fire started Friday and the second began Saturday. Police say the proximity of the fires — about 150 yard apart — and timing were suspicious. Authorities are searching for a suspect they questioned and released after the first fire. He was last seen wearing a black hat and a camouflage jacket while carrying a tan backpack and large knife.</p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 16:52:21 +0000 KNAU staff 46049 at http://knau.org Arizona's U.S. Senators Request Wildfire Help from Federal Government http://knau.org/post/arizonas-us-senators-request-wildfire-help-federal-government <p>Over the weekend, crews battled the first major wildfire of the year in northern Arizona. As Arizona Public Radio’s Ryan Heinsius reports, just days before the fire broke out both of the state’s U.S. senators urged the federal government to fast-track thinning projects.</p><p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Ryan Heinsius 46023 at http://knau.org Arizona's U.S. Senators Request Wildfire Help from Federal Government Stage 1 Fire Restrictions Begin Friday for Flagstaff http://knau.org/post/stage-1-fire-restrictions-begin-friday-flagstaff <div style="margin:0;"><span lang="en-US"><font face="Calibri,sans-serif" size="2"><span style="font-size:11pt;"><font face="Times New Roman,serif">The City of Flagstaff will implement stage 1 fire restrictions on Fri, April 18 at 8 a.m.</font></span></font></span><span lang="en-US"><font face="Calibri,sans-serif" size="2"><span style="font-size:11pt;"><font face="Times New Roman,serif"> </font></span></font></span></div><div style="margin:0;"><span lang="en-US"><font face="Calibri,sans-serif" size="2"><span style="font-size:11pt;"><font face="Times New Roman,serif">These restrictions ban on a Tue, 15 Apr 2014 01:40:53 +0000 KNAU staff 46024 at http://knau.org Advocacy Groups are Working to Protect Arizona Cyclists http://knau.org/post/advocacy-groups-are-working-protect-arizona-cyclists <p>Bicycling advocacy groups in Arizona are working to pass several bills related to bike safety. Arizona Public Radio’s Parker Olson reports.</p><p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 15:29:23 +0000 Parker Olson 45992 at http://knau.org Advocacy Groups are Working to Protect Arizona Cyclists Despite Dry Conditions, No Campfire Ban on National Forests http://knau.org/post/despite-dry-conditions-no-campfire-ban-national-forests <p>Extremely dry conditions have pushed up fire season by about a month on northern Arizona’s forests. As Arizona Public Radio’s Ryan Heinsius reports, the Flagstaff community is already taking precautions.</p><p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Ryan Heinsius 45863 at http://knau.org Despite Dry Conditions, No Campfire Ban on National Forests New Law to Benefit Arizona Breweries and Distilleries http://knau.org/post/new-law-benefit-arizona-breweries-and-distilleries <p>A group of brewers and distillers in the state are behind reforming an alcohol law. As Arizona Public Radio’s Justin Regan Reports, it’s part of a large bill that loosens regulations on the production of beer and spirits.</p><p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 11:58:00 +0000 Justin Regan 45854 at http://knau.org New Law to Benefit Arizona Breweries and Distilleries