education funding http://knau.org en State Education Spending for Instruction at Low Point http://knau.org/post/state-education-spending-instruction-low-point <p>A new report shows fewer and fewer dollars going into educating students in public schools. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Mon, 03 Mar 2014 15:07:23 +0000 Howard Fischer 44106 at http://knau.org State Education Spending for Instruction at Low Point Arizona Public Schools Want $330 Million in State Aid Restored http://knau.org/post/arizona-public-schools-want-330-million-state-aid-restored <p>Public schools want a judge to force the state to restore at least $330 million state aid — what it should have been had the governor and lawmakers not ignored the law in the first place. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Wed, 22 Jan 2014 18:42:59 +0000 Howard Fischer 42442 at http://knau.org Arizona Public Schools Want $330 Million in State Aid Restored Gov. Brewer Proposes Education Funding Restructure in State of State Address http://knau.org/post/gov-brewer-proposes-education-funding-restructure-state-state-address <p>Gov. Jan Brewer asked lawmakers Monday to somewhat revamp how state aid to schools is computed. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Tue, 14 Jan 2014 15:25:10 +0000 Howard Fischer 42138 at http://knau.org Gov. Brewer Proposes Education Funding Restructure in State of State Address Business Leaders Urge Increased Education Funding http://knau.org/post/business-leaders-urge-increased-education-funding <p>A parade of business leaders urged lawmakers today to provide money to implement the new common core standards for K-12 education. Wed, 16 Jan 2013 21:46:11 +0000 Howard Fischer 25988 at http://knau.org Court Rules on School Aid Increases http://knau.org/post/court-rules-school-aid-increases <p>The state Court of Appeals ruled today that lawmakers and Gov. Jan Brewer were legally wrong in refusing to fully increase state aid to schools to account for inflation. Tue, 15 Jan 2013 21:28:57 +0000 Howard Fischer 25938 at http://knau.org Court Rules on School Aid Increases 1 Cent Sales Tax May Make it to Ballot http://knau.org/post/1-cent-sales-tax-may-make-it-ballot <p>Backers of extending the state&#39;s temporary 1-cent sales tax submitted more than 290,000 signatures Monday to put the issue on the November ballot. But&nbsp;at this point all they&#39;ve really done is guaranteed a court fight.</p> Mon, 25 Jun 2012 23:00:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 16094 at http://knau.org Loss of Students in N. AZ Public Schools May be Slowing http://knau.org/post/loss-students-n-az-public-schools-may-be-slowing <p>The&nbsp;sound of school buses is familiar during the school year.&nbsp;</p><p>But residents of Chino Valley now hear those sounds only four days a week.&nbsp;</p><p>Jon Scholl, with the Chino Valley Unified School District, says cutting back on bus service saved the district money.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 15 May 2012 17:01:39 +0000 Zac Ziegler 13917 at http://knau.org