Mexico http://knau.org en Mezcal Production Drawing Mexicans Back Home http://knau.org/post/mezcal-production-drawing-mexicans-back-home <p>It’s after midnight at Bar Añejo in Manhattan. Añejo means ‘aged’. On this night--in this place--it means “the nectar of a Mexican plant that’s been lovingly grown, and you’re about to sip it.” Wed, 12 Dec 2012 21:16:10 +0000 Lorne Matalon 24557 at http://knau.org Mezcal Production Drawing Mexicans Back Home Mexico One Step Closer To Legalized Gay Marriage http://knau.org/post/mexico-one-step-closer-legalized-gay-marriage <p>The Mexican Supreme Court overturned an Oaxaca state law prohibiting same-sex marriage. The ruling may have a wide-ranging influence, leading to the legalization of gay marriage in Mexico.</p><p>The unanimous ruling is aligned with Mexico City, where gay marriage has been legal since 2010.</p> Fri, 07 Dec 2012 20:10:20 +0000 John Rosman & John Rosman 24362 at http://knau.org US Issues Another Mexico Travel Warning http://knau.org/post/us-issues-another-mexico-travel-warning <p>The State Department has renewed its <a href="http://travel.state.gov/travel/cis_pa_tw/tw/tw_5815.html"><u><font color="#0066cc">travel warning</font></u></a> for Mexico, saying that drug violence there can be a danger to Americans. Wed, 21 Nov 2012 22:53:24 +0000 Michel Marizco 23717 at http://knau.org US And Mexico Make Water History http://knau.org/post/us-and-mexico-make-water-history <p>The <a href="http://www.ibwc.state.gov/"><u><font color="#0066cc">United States and Mexico</font></u></a> signed an historic agreement Tuesday to <a href="http://www.fronterasdesk.org/news/2012/nov/19/us-and-mexico-sign-landmark-colorado-river-agreeme/"><u><font color="#0066cc">ration and protect Colorado River water</font></u></a>. Wed, 21 Nov 2012 00:38:24 +0000 Laurel Morales 23666 at http://knau.org Fmr Mexican President Vicente Fox Urges Closer Ties with US http://knau.org/post/fmr-mexican-president-vicente-fox-urges-closer-ties-us <p>Vicente Fox warned today that unless this country works closer with Mexico -- and recognizes the benefits of immigrant labor -- it will end up playing second fiddle to China. Thu, 13 Sep 2012 23:23:01 +0000 Howard Fischer 20246 at http://knau.org Fmr Mexican President Vicente Fox Urges Closer Ties with US Mexico's New President Hails From Old Party http://knau.org/post/mexicos-new-president-hails-old-party <p>Mexico&#39;s oldest political party is back in power.</p><p>On Sunday, voters delivered a robust victory to <a href="http://www.enriquepenanieto.com/"><u><font color="#0066cc">Enrique Peña Nieto</font></u></a> of the Institutional Revolutionary Party, or <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Institutional_Revolutionary_Party"><u><font color="#0066cc">PRI</font></u></a>. After a 12-year absence the party that ruled Mexico for seven decades will once again lead the country.</p> Mon, 02 Jul 2012 17:45:38 +0000 16367 at http://knau.org Mexico's New President Hails From Old Party Trade Between U.S., Mexico Tops $500 Billion http://knau.org/post/trade-between-us-mexico-tops-500-billion <p>Trade between the United States and Mexico reached half a trillion dollars in 2011. Cross-border commerce is growing despite <a href="http://www.fronterasdesk.org/news/drug-war/"><u><font color="#0066cc">escalating drug violence</font></u></a> in Mexico.</p> Wed, 06 Jun 2012 00:20:20 +0000 Peter O'Dowd 15007 at http://knau.org Trade Between U.S., Mexico Tops $500 Billion Does 'La Jefa' Have What It Takes To Be Mexico's Next President? http://knau.org/post/does-la-jefa-have-what-it-takes-be-mexicos-next-president <p><span class="dateline">CIUDAD JUÁREZ, Mexico</span> &mdash; Mexico is about a month away from choosing its next president. Among the candidates is the first woman to run under a major political party.</p> Fri, 01 Jun 2012 18:17:13 +0000 14813 at http://knau.org Does 'La Jefa' Have What It Takes To Be Mexico's Next President? Report: Net Mexican Migration To The U.S. Falls To Zero http://knau.org/post/report-net-mexican-migration-us-falls-zero <h2 class="header">A <a href="http://www.pewhispanic.org/2012/04/23/net-migration-from-mexico-falls-to-zero-and-perhaps-less/"><u><font color="#0066cc">new Pew Hispanic Center study</font></u></a> finds that net migration to the U.S. from Mexico declined to zero between 2005 and 2010.</h2><div class="story_body" id="target-story_body_template"><p>About 1.4 million Mexican immigrants arrived in the U.S during that time. But just as many Mexicans returned to Mexico -- possibly more, the study found.</p> Mon, 23 Apr 2012 23:00:00 +0000 Adrian Florido 12886 at http://knau.org