SB1070 http://knau.org en Lawmakers to Use Tax Dollars to Fight SB 1070 E-mail Subpoenas http://knau.org/post/lawmakers-use-tax-dollars-fight-sb-1070-e-mail-subpoenas <p>Republican legislative leaders are moving to use tax dollars to fight subpoenas of e-mails of current and former lawmakers. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Wed, 15 Jan 2014 15:54:03 +0000 Howard Fischer 42186 at http://knau.org Lawmakers to Use Tax Dollars to Fight SB 1070 E-mail Subpoenas Brewer Asks Supreme Court to Allow SB 1070 Enforcement Provision http://knau.org/post/brewer-asks-supreme-court-allow-sb-1070-enforcement-provision <p>Gov. Jan Brewer asked the U.S. Supreme Court Monday to let the state enforce a 2010 law making it a crime to knowingly transport or harbor those in the country illegally. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 16:44:11 +0000 Howard Fischer 41870 at http://knau.org Brewer Asks Supreme Court to Allow SB 1070 Enforcement Provision SB 1070 Legislator Communications To Go Public http://knau.org/post/sb-1070-legislator-communications-go-public <p>A federal judge has allowed challengers to the state's major law aimed at illegal immigrants to see which advocacy groups were advising legislators. Arizona Public Radio's Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Thu, 02 Jan 2014 16:52:14 +0000 Howard Fischer 41687 at http://knau.org SB 1070 Legislator Communications To Go Public Judge Rules SB 1070 Can Move Forward http://knau.org/post/judge-rules-sb-1070-can-move-forward <p>A federal judge cleared the way today for the state to start enforcing the most sweeping provision of its 2010 immigration law. Thu, 06 Sep 2012 00:28:46 +0000 Howard Fischer 19798 at http://knau.org Civil Rights Groups Take SB1070 to Court Again http://knau.org/post/civil-rights-groups-take-sb1070-court-again <p>A federal judge this morning questioned a bid by civil rights groups to get her to again block the state from enforcing a key provision of a 2010 law aimed at illegal immigrants.</p> Tue, 21 Aug 2012 21:44:31 +0000 Howard Fischer 19023 at http://knau.org Arpaio Discrimination Trial To Conclude Thursday http://knau.org/post/arpaio-discrimination-trial-conclude-thursday <p>A class action lawsuit that goes to trial in Phoenix on July 19 will bring more attention to the tactics of <a href="http://www.mcso.org/About/Sheriff.aspx"><u><font color="#0066cc">Maricopa County Sheriff Joe Arpaio</font></u></a>.</p><p>The Arizona sheriff has been vocal that cracking down on illegal immigrants is among his top priorities. Plaintiffs claim Arpaio and his deputies discriminate against Latinos.</p> Thu, 02 Aug 2012 16:17:17 +0000 17897 at http://knau.org Arpaio Discrimination Trial To Conclude Thursday Sheriff Joe Arpaio's Tactics Go On Trial http://knau.org/post/sheriff-joe-arpaios-tactics-go-trial <p>A class action lawsuit that goes to trial in Phoenix&nbsp;today will bring more attention to the tactics of <a href="http://www.mcso.org/About/Sheriff.aspx"><u><font color="#0066cc">Maricopa County Sheriff Joe Arpaio</font></u></a>.</p><p>The Arizona sheriff has been vocal that cracking down on illegal immigrants is among his top priorities. Plaintiffs claim Arpaio and his deputies discriminate against Latinos.</p> Thu, 19 Jul 2012 18:33:17 +0000 17211 at http://knau.org Sheriff Joe Arpaio's Tactics Go On Trial Federal Judge Recognizes Another Challenge to SB 1070 http://knau.org/post/federal-judge-recognizes-another-challenge-sb-1070 <p>A federal judge has set the stage for another challenge to the state&#39;s immigration law.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 31 May 2012 00:51:45 +0000 Howard Fischer 14705 at http://knau.org Supreme Court Hears AZ Anti-Immigration Law http://knau.org/post/supreme-court-hears-az-anti-immigration-law <p>WASHINGTON (AP) &mdash; Supreme Court justices strongly suggested Wednesday that they are ready to allow Arizona to enforce part of a controversial state law requiring police officers to check the immigration status of people they think are in the country illegally.</p> Wed, 25 Apr 2012 20:06:18 +0000 Associated Press 12908 at http://knau.org US Senate Holds Hearing on AZ Immigration Law http://knau.org/post/us-senate-holds-hearing-az-immigration-law <p>The Senate Judiciary subcommittee took a closer look at Arizona&#39;s SB 1070. The law is&nbsp;designed to give police more power to detain and arrest those not in thge country legally. Schumer contends -- as does the Department of Justice -- that states can enforce immigration laws only with federal permission. Tue, 24 Apr 2012 06:00:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 12891 at http://knau.org