Contraception http://knau.org en Governor Brewer Signs Abortion Bill and Lawmakers Re-Make Contraception Bill http://knau.org/post/governor-brewer-signs-abortion-bill-and-lawmakers-re-make-contraception-bill <p>Governor Jan Brewer signed new restrictions on abortions Thursday even as lawmakers moved to expand laws exempting who has to fund contraceptives to prevent pregnancy.</p> Fri, 13 Apr 2012 17:07:25 +0000 Howard Fischer 12314 at http://knau.org Researcher Says Drop in Teen Births Due to Increased Use of Contraception http://knau.org/post/researcher-says-drop-teen-births-due-increased-use-contraception <p><span lang="EN">Arizona has led the nation in the decline in the teen birth rate from 2007 to 2010.</span></p><p><span lang="EN">That&#39;s according to the National Center for Health Statistics.</span></p><p><span lang="EN">Nationally, the rate of teenaged girls having babies dropped 9 percent to 34 girls per thousand.</span></p><p><span lang="EN">But in Arizona the rate has dropped 29 percent.</span></p><p><span lang="EN">At 42 teenage births per thousand, Arizona still has one of the highest teen birthrates in the country.</span></p> Tue, 10 Apr 2012 23:30:37 +0000 Mark Bevis 12178 at http://knau.org Arizona Saw Largest Decrease in Teen Birth Rate in Nation. http://knau.org/post/arizona-saw-largest-decrease-teen-birth-rate-nation <p>New Federal data show the nation&#39;s teen birthrate is at historic lows.</p><p>And Arizona saw the largest decline in the country from 2007 to 2010.</p><p>In those 4 years, Arizona&#39;s birthrate for girls, aged 15 to 19, fell 29 percent.</p><p>Brady Hamilton put the report together for the National Center for Health Statistics.</p><p>But he says the states decline in teen birthrates is only part of the story.</p> Tue, 10 Apr 2012 22:33:26 +0000 Mark Bevis 12175 at http://knau.org Bill on Contraceptive Coverage Facing Uncertain Future http://knau.org/post/bill-contraceptive-coverage-facing-uncertain-future <p>It does not look like employers in this state are going to be able to use their religious beliefs to deny contraceptive coverage to their workers.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 06 Apr 2012 15:46:31 +0000 Howard Fischer 11976 at http://knau.org Governor Brewer Not Sure About Anti-Contraception Bill http://knau.org/post/governor-brewer-not-sure-about-anti-contraception-bill <p>Gov. Jan Brewer says part of pending Arizona&nbsp;legislation on insurance coverage for birth control drugs could&nbsp;make it uncomfortable for women using contraception for reasons over than avoiding pregnancy.</p><p>The bill would allow all employers with religious and moral&nbsp;objections to birth control to refuse to provide coverage for that purpose through their health plans. Those employers still would&nbsp;have to provide coverage for&nbsp;contraception&nbsp;for other medical reasons but could make women seeking reimbursements explain why they need it.</p> Fri, 16 Mar 2012 18:57:48 +0000 Associated Press 10872 at http://knau.org Governor Brewer Not Sure About Anti-Contraception Bill AZ Senate Panel Approves Bill Allowing Employers to Refuse to Cover Contraception http://knau.org/post/az-senate-panel-approves-bill-allowing-employers-refuse-cover-contraception <p>A Senate panel voted Monday to let employers with religious or moral objections refuse to include contraceptive coverage in their health insurance plans for their workers.</p><p>HB 2625 would repeal a decade-old mandate which says that companies that provide health insurance for workers must also cover contraceptives. Representative Debbie Lesko&nbsp;(R-Glendale) said the move is necessary to protect freedom.</p> Tue, 13 Mar 2012 17:58:29 +0000 Howard Fischer 10648 at http://knau.org House Approves Religious Ban on Contraception Coverage http://knau.org/post/house-approves-religious-ban-contraception-coverage <p>The state House voted Thursday to let ANY employer refuse to provide contraceptive coverage based on its religious beliefs.</p> Fri, 02 Mar 2012 20:05:30 +0000 Howard Fischer 10097 at http://knau.org In Contraception Clash, Catholic Latinas Stray From Doctrine http://knau.org/post/contraception-clash-catholic-latinas-stray-doctrine <p>As the Saint Jude Catholic Church&#39;s sanctuary reverberated with the tunes of a Spanish language band shortly before mass on Sunday evening, Amparo Gonzalez, 56, sat in a nearby pew, thumbing through this week&rsquo;s church bulletin.</p> Thu, 16 Feb 2012 00:00:00 +0000 Adrian Florido 9265 at http://knau.org