environment http://knau.org en Earth Notes: The Line on Fishing Line http://knau.org/post/earth-notes-line-fishing-line <p>Arizona claims a unique population of desert-nesting bald eagles. Those eagles often build their big bulky nests near water, including lakes and rivers in the northern part of the state. The birds use about anything they can find in nest construction—including used fishing line.</p><p> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 21:27:37 +0000 Rose Houk 43950 at http://knau.org Earth Notes: The Line on Fishing Line Invasive Mussel Population Expected to Rise at Lake Powell http://knau.org/post/invasive-mussel-population-expected-rise-lake-powell <p>Invasive aquatic species have entered many of the major water systems in the American West. As Arizona Public Radio’s Justin Regan reports, the population of the quagga mussel is expected to rise at Lake Powell.</p><p> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Justin Regan 43914 at http://knau.org Invasive Mussel Population Expected to Rise at Lake Powell Earth Notes: Project FeederWatch http://knau.org/post/earth-notes-project-feederwatch <p>Feeding wild birds in the backyard is an enjoyable hobby for many. But for Emma Greig it’s much more—it’s a way to keep tabs on what’s happening with bird populations across the country.</p><p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 15:41:47 +0000 Cecile LeBlanc 43629 at http://knau.org Earth Notes: Project FeederWatch Off-Road Access to be Expanded in Glen Canyon http://knau.org/post/road-access-be-expanded-glen-canyon <p>The National Park Service has proposed adding more than a dozen areas for off-highway vehicle use within the Glen Canyon National Recreation Area. As Arizona Public Radio’s Ryan Heinsius reports, the plan is designed to halt illegal off roading. However, conservation groups aren’t happy.</p><p> Wed, 29 Jan 2014 23:20:42 +0000 Ryan Heinsius 42773 at http://knau.org Off-Road Access to be Expanded in Glen Canyon 2012 The Warmest Year On Record http://knau.org/post/2012-warmest-year-record <p>Last year was the hottest year on record for the contiguous United States. And the Upper Colorado River Basin had its driest year on record, according to the latest National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration <a href="http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/sotc/national/2012/1"><u><font color="#0066cc">climate report</font></u></a> released Tuesday. Wed, 09 Jan 2013 16:11:40 +0000 Laurel Morales 25663 at http://knau.org 2012 The Warmest Year On Record Park Service Bans Older Watercraft on Lakes Mead and Mohave http://knau.org/post/park-service-bans-older-watercraft-lakes-mead-and-mohave <p>If you’ve got an older model watercraft, with a carbureted, two stroke engine, don’t bother taking it to either Lake Mead or Lake Mohave after the 1<sup>st</sup> of the year. Fri, 14 Dec 2012 20:42:57 +0000 Mark Bevis 24676 at http://knau.org Park Service Bans Older Watercraft on Lakes Mead and Mohave 4FRI Part 1: The Problem with Our Ponderosa Forests http://knau.org/post/4fri-part-1-problem-our-ponderosa-forests <p><span lang="EN">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p><span lang="EN">The world’s largest ponderosa pine forest stretches across higher elevations from the San Francisco Peaks to the Arizona/New Mexico border. </span><span lang="EN">But in the last century, human intervention has threatened its health. Tue, 13 Nov 2012 18:43:58 +0000 Michael Collier & Rose Houk 23302 at http://knau.org 4FRI Part 1: The Problem with Our Ponderosa Forests Saving Picture Canyon http://knau.org/post/saving-picture-canyon <p><br />For much of the last several decades, Picture Canyon in Flagstaff was known more for its trash than its petroglyphes. Next week, the State Department of Land will hold a public hearing on a bid to conserve the canyon. The hearing is just the latest step in a long effort to restore and protect the area.<br /> Thu, 09 Feb 2012 22:55:30 +0000 Claudine Lomonaco 8928 at http://knau.org Saving Picture Canyon