sales tax http://knau.org en Kavanagh To Attempt Fund Transfer from Childhood Education to CPS http://knau.org/post/kavanagh-attempt-fund-transfer-childhood-education-cps <p>A veteran state lawmaker wants voters to siphon cash away from a program for early childhood development to instead help fund services for foster children and the families that care for them. Arizona Public Radio's Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Mon, 06 Jan 2014 16:54:58 +0000 Howard Fischer 41821 at http://knau.org Kavanagh To Attempt Fund Transfer from Childhood Education to CPS Gov's Panel Recommends Taxing Web Sales http://knau.org/post/govs-panel-recommends-taxing-web-sales <p>A gubernatorial panel on Thursday recommended changes in state law that eventually could mean Arizonans paying sales taxes on everything they buy on the World Wide Web. Fri, 14 Dec 2012 17:02:55 +0000 Howard Fischer 24661 at http://knau.org Auto Dealers Association Funding Anti Penny Tax Initiative http://knau.org/post/auto-dealers-association-funding-anti-penny-tax-initiative <p>Did you buy a car or truck last year? If so you may have helped&nbsp;fund the campaign to kill Proposition 204. Wed, 24 Oct 2012 23:06:09 +0000 Howard Fischer 22294 at http://knau.org Penny Sales Tax Initiative Has New Opposition http://knau.org/post/penny-sales-tax-initiative-has-new-opposition <p>A ballot measure designed largely to raise money for education has picked up new opposition -- and for a very unusual reason. Wed, 10 Oct 2012 18:43:44 +0000 Howard Fischer 21561 at http://knau.org State Supreme Court Rules Sale Tax Can Stay on Ballot http://knau.org/post/state-supreme-court-rules-sale-tax-can-stay-ballot <p>The Supreme Court ruled today that voters will get a chance to decide in November whether they want the sales tax rate to stay as high as it is now. Wed, 15 Aug 2012 00:30:18 +0000 Howard Fischer 18660 at http://knau.org Backers of Sales Tax Bill File Suit Over Ballot Description http://knau.org/post/backers-sales-tax-bill-file-suit-over-ballot-description <p>Backers of an extension of the state&#39;s sales tax surcharge filed a new lawsuit Wednesday, this one over how their measure is being described to voters.</p> Thu, 26 Jul 2012 16:22:06 +0000 Howard Fischer 17552 at http://knau.org Penny Sales Tax is Back on Ballot http://knau.org/post/penny-sales-tax-back-ballot <p>A state judge ruled Tuesday that Secretary of State Ken Bennett was wrong to refuse to process initiative petitions seeking to make the one-cent sales tax surcharge permanent.</p><p>Backers turned in more than 290,000 signatures for the plan. But Bennett noted the language on the petitions is different than what initiative organizers prefiled on paper with his office in March. Assistant Secretary of State Jim Drake said it was that prefiled language that Bennett put on the office&#39;s web site so voters could review it.</p> Thu, 19 Jul 2012 18:16:53 +0000 Howard Fischer 17207 at http://knau.org Penny Sales Tax is Back on Ballot Battle over Internet Sales Tax Heating Up http://knau.org/post/battle-over-internet-sales-tax-heating <p>The state&#39;s retailers are gearing up for what could be an extensive and expensive political and public relations campaign to get lawmakers to start taxing items sold on the World Wide Web.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 12 Jul 2012 00:14:16 +0000 Howard Fischer 16813 at http://knau.org Gov. Brewer Opposes Permanent 1 Cent Sales Tax http://knau.org/post/gov-brewer-opposes-permanent-1-cent-sales-tax <p>Governor Jan Brewer said today she&#39;s opposed to the ballot measure to permanently extend the one-cent surcharge on the state sales tax.</p><p>It was Brewer who promoted the original voter-approved levy in 2010 to help balance the budget, with the idea it would disappear in three years. Now a group is pushing an initiative to make the extra tax permanent, with the proceeds specifically earmarked for K-12 education, university scholarships, health care and road construction. Brewer said this is a bad idea.</p> Tue, 10 Jul 2012 00:36:12 +0000 Howard Fischer 16689 at http://knau.org Gov. Brewer Opposes Permanent 1 Cent Sales Tax 1 Cent Sales Tax May Make it to Ballot http://knau.org/post/1-cent-sales-tax-may-make-it-ballot <p>Backers of extending the state&#39;s temporary 1-cent sales tax submitted more than 290,000 signatures Monday to put the issue on the November ballot. But&nbsp;at this point all they&#39;ve really done is guaranteed a court fight.</p> Mon, 25 Jun 2012 23:00:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 16094 at http://knau.org