guns http://knau.org en Gov. Brewer Vetoes Gun Bill http://knau.org/post/gov-brewer-vetoes-gun-bill <p>Gov. Jan Brewer vetoed legislation Tuesday that would have allowed some people to bring their guns into public buildings. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 17:18:37 +0000 Howard Fischer 46427 at http://knau.org Gov. Brewer Vetoes Gun Bill State Senate Poised to Approve Gun Expansion Bill http://knau.org/post/state-senate-poised-approve-gun-expansion-bill <p>More than 200,000 people who have state-issued permits to carry concealed weapons would be able to bring them into most public buildings under terms of a bill given preliminary Senate approval Tuesday. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 11:58:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 46098 at http://knau.org State Senate Poised to Approve Gun Expansion Bill State House Votes to Further Criminalize Gun Theft http://knau.org/post/state-house-votes-further-criminalize-gun-theft <p>It’s already a crime to take someone’s gun from them. But, that did not stop the state House Thursday from making it a double crime. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 15:00:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 44610 at http://knau.org State House Votes to Further Criminalize Gun Theft State House Votes to Permit Guns into Many Public Buildings http://knau.org/post/state-house-votes-permit-guns-many-public-buildings <p>The state House voted Wednesday to let anyone with a permit to carry a concealed weapon bring it into many public buildings. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 17:24:20 +0000 Howard Fischer 44561 at http://knau.org State House Votes to Permit Guns into Many Public Buildings Local Skepticism Regarding Armed School Employees http://knau.org/post/local-skepticism-regarding-armed-school-employees <p>A bill is going before the Arizona State Legislature that would allow schools to arm one employee with a gun. Arizona Public Radio’s Justin Regan examines how the proposed legislation might impact school districts in northern Arizona.</p><p> Tue, 04 Mar 2014 15:35:19 +0000 Justin Regan 44148 at http://knau.org Local Skepticism Regarding Armed School Employees State House Panel Votes to Arm One Person Per School http://knau.org/post/state-house-panel-votes-arm-one-person-school <p>A House panel voted Wednesday to let schools designate one employee at each site to be able to have access to a gun. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Thu, 27 Feb 2014 15:29:22 +0000 Howard Fischer 43985 at http://knau.org State House Panel Votes to Arm One Person Per School Lawmaker Wants to Protect Scofflaws http://knau.org/post/lawmaker-wants-protect-scofflaws <p>A state legislator wants to provide legal cover for people who do not want to obey new federal gun laws and regulations. Tue, 22 Jan 2013 16:41:05 +0000 Howard Fischer 26212 at http://knau.org Obama's Gun Plan Could Impact Weapons Trafficking http://knau.org/post/obamas-gun-plan-could-impact-weapons-trafficking <p>President Barack Obama <a href="http://www.scribd.com/doc/120649235/White-House-statement-summarizing-President-Obama-s-executive-actions-related-to-gun-violence"><u><font color="#0066cc">called for a series of laws and restrictions</font></u></a> that would overhaul the nation’s gun laws on Wednesday. Some of those steps could have an impact on weapons trafficking across the border into Mexico. Thu, 17 Jan 2013 20:48:55 +0000 Michel Marizco 26041 at http://knau.org Obama's Gun Plan Could Impact Weapons Trafficking Governor Sets Limits on Guns in Public Schools http://knau.org/post/governor-sets-limits-guns-public-schools <p>Gov. Jan Brewer said today she does not want armed teachers, principals and volunteers in public schools. Thu, 10 Jan 2013 21:33:22 +0000 Howard Fischer 25742 at http://knau.org Governor Sets Limits on Guns in Public Schools AZ Senate Democrat Wants to Ban High Capacity Gun Magazines http://knau.org/post/az-senate-democrat-wants-ban-high-capacity-gun-magazines <p>Assistant Minority Leader Linda Lopez said Adam Lanza had a rifle with a 30-round capacity when he killed 20 children and six adults at Sandy Hook Elementary School. Thu, 10 Jan 2013 19:36:12 +0000 Howard Fischer 25733 at http://knau.org AZ Senate Democrat Wants to Ban High Capacity Gun Magazines