elections http://knau.org en Joe Shirley Jr. Announces Bid for Navajo Nation President http://knau.org/post/joe-shirley-jr-announces-bid-navajo-nation-president <p>Presidential candidates for the Navajo Nation began filing their applications today. As Arizona Public Radio’s Parker Olson reports a former two-term President is entering the race again, which has sparked controversy within the tribe.</p><p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 16:32:55 +0000 Ryan Heinsius 44032 at http://knau.org Joe Shirley Jr. Announces Bid for Navajo Nation President Gov. Brewer Fundraising for Republicans Who Supported Medicaid Expansion http://knau.org/post/gov-brewer-fundraising-republicans-who-supported-medicaid-expansion <p>Gov. Jan Brewer is out raising money to make good on her promise to protect the Republicans who supported her controversial Medicaid expansion plan. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Thu, 06 Feb 2014 15:00:05 +0000 Howard Fischer 43087 at http://knau.org Gov. Brewer Fundraising for Republicans Who Supported Medicaid Expansion Fundraising Boost for Rep. Kirkpatrick Despite Negative Ads http://knau.org/post/fundraising-boost-rep-kirkpatrick-despite-negative-ads <p>Despite a recent wave of attack ads criticizing Representative Ann Kirkpatrick, the congresswoman had a stronger fundraising quarter than her Republican opponents looking to unseat her in 2014. As Arizona Public Radio’s Ryan Heinsius reports, Rep. Kirkpatrick also recently received a high-profile endorsement.</p><p> Wed, 05 Feb 2014 15:37:36 +0000 Ryan Heinsius 43034 at http://knau.org Fundraising Boost for Rep. Kirkpatrick Despite Negative Ads Gov. Brewer Building Funds to Elect Fellow Republicans http://knau.org/post/gov-brewer-building-funds-elect-fellow-republicans <p>Gov. Jan Brewer is building up her war chest to help elect like-minded Republicans to Congress. Arizona Public Radio's Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 15:43:12 +0000 Howard Fischer 42938 at http://knau.org Gov. Brewer Building Funds to Elect Fellow Republicans State House Kills Drive for a Public Vote on Election Laws http://knau.org/post/state-house-kills-drive-public-vote-election-laws <p>A Republican-dominated House panel took the first steps Thursday to kill a referendum drive to force a public vote on changes to state election laws. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Thu, 30 Jan 2014 15:04:55 +0000 Howard Fischer 42837 at http://knau.org State House Kills Drive for a Public Vote on Election Laws Arizona Lawmakers Want District-Drawing Power Back from Voters http://knau.org/post/arizona-lawmakers-want-district-drawing-power-back-voters <p>State lawmakers went to federal court today to try to wrest back from voters the right to draw congressional districts. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Fri, 24 Jan 2014 21:56:18 +0000 Howard Fischer 42556 at http://knau.org Arizona Lawmakers Want District-Drawing Power Back from Voters Former California Congressman Announces Bid for Arizona Governor http://knau.org/post/former-california-congressman-announces-bid-arizona-governor <p>The field of Republicans who want to be governor became more crowded Wednesday, with the latest entry being a former California congressman. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Thu, 23 Jan 2014 15:32:36 +0000 Howard Fischer 42482 at http://knau.org Former California Congressman Announces Bid for Arizona Governor Attorney Argues Anonymous Hit Pieces OK During Campaigns http://knau.org/post/attorney-argues-anonymous-hit-pieces-ok-during-campaigns <p>A lawyer for Democratic attorneys general argued in court today there’s a constitutional right for anonymous hit pieces on candidates, even right before an election. Arizona Public Radio's Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Tue, 21 Jan 2014 23:10:44 +0000 Howard Fischer 42422 at http://knau.org Attorney Argues Anonymous Hit Pieces OK During Campaigns Mesa Mayor Scott Smith Launches Campaign for Governor http://knau.org/post/mesa-mayor-scott-smith-launches-campaign-governor <p>Mesa Mayor Scott Smith launched his bid for governor today by insisting that he is a true conservative despite positions he has taken on background checks for gun buyers, Medicaid expansion and publicly financed stadiums. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Thu, 09 Jan 2014 22:54:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 41985 at http://knau.org Mesa Mayor Scott Smith Launches Campaign for Governor Court to decide on Arizona election-advertising transparency http://knau.org/post/court-decide-arizona-election-advertising-transparency <p>The state Court of Appeals will decide whether groups that run ads criticizing candidates right before an election have to disclose their donors. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Fri, 06 Dec 2013 16:01:22 +0000 Howard Fischer 40631 at http://knau.org Court to decide on Arizona election-advertising transparency