elections http://knau.org en Defeated Texas State Senator Aiding Gov. Brewer’s PAC http://knau.org/post/defeated-texas-state-senator-aiding-gov-brewer-s-pac <p>A Texas state senator defeated in his bid for reelection earlier this year is now helping Gov. Jan Brewer elect candidates <em>she</em> likes to Congress. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 11:59:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 50321 at http://knau.org Defeated Texas State Senator Aiding Gov. Brewer’s PAC No Voter-Proposed Laws for Arizona’s 2014 Ballot http://knau.org/post/no-voter-proposed-laws-arizona-s-2014-ballot <p>It hasn’t happened in more than 30 years, but Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports it looks like there won’t be any voter-proposed laws on the November ballot.</p><p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 49690 at http://knau.org No Voter-Proposed Laws for Arizona’s 2014 Ballot Gov. Brewer Contemplates Who She’ll Support In Upcoming Elections http://knau.org/post/gov-brewer-contemplates-who-she-ll-support-upcoming-elections <p>Gov. Jan Brewer is building up a political warchest to help influence who controls the Legislature for the next two years — and potentially who succeeds her. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 22:52:19 +0000 Howard Fischer 49665 at http://knau.org Gov. Brewer Contemplates Who She’ll Support In Upcoming Elections Arizona Secretary of State Candidates Debate Their Qualifications for Governor http://knau.org/post/arizona-secretary-state-candidates-debate-their-qualifications-governor <p>Three Republicans are vying to become the next secretary of state. So at a televised debate on KAET-TV Tuesday night, moderator Ted Simons asked them what qualifies them to be <em>governor</em>. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 14:59:42 +0000 Howard Fischer 49629 at http://knau.org Arizona Secretary of State Candidates Debate Their Qualifications for Governor Republican Gubernatorial Primary Ramps Up With Cash Influx http://knau.org/post/republican-gubernatorial-primary-ramps-cash-influx <p>A major auto dealer has become a prime force in trying to ensure that Doug Ducey is the Republican nominee for governor — and that Christine Jones is not. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 21:00:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 49626 at http://knau.org Republican Gubernatorial Primary Ramps Up With Cash Influx State Supreme Court Shoots Down Signature Forgery Case http://knau.org/post/state-supreme-court-shoots-down-signature-forgery-case <p>The state Supreme Court ruled today that a veteran state senator cannot knock his Republican foe off the Aug. 26 primary election ballot. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 23:06:22 +0000 Howard Fischer 49447 at http://knau.org State Supreme Court Shoots Down Signature Forgery Case Candidate Signature Forgery Hearing Could Have Statewide Implications http://knau.org/post/candidate-signature-forgery-hearing-could-have-statewide-implications <p>A court fight between two legislative candidates over forged signatures could have statewide implications. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 22:00:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 49425 at http://knau.org Candidate Signature Forgery Hearing Could Have Statewide Implications Corporation Commission Candidates Debate Solar Tax http://knau.org/post/corporation-commission-candidates-debate-solar-tax <p>Republicans running for the two open seats on the state Corporation Commission are divided on the issue of the taxability of solar panels on homes. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 11:59:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 49368 at http://knau.org Corporation Commission Candidates Debate Solar Tax Judge Keeps Arizona Candidate Requirement for Signatures http://knau.org/post/judge-keeps-arizona-candidate-requirement-signatures <p>A federal judge on Monday refused Monday to ease the requirement for candidates to get on the ballot, at least for this year. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 16:11:54 +0000 Howard Fischer 49241 at http://knau.org Judge Keeps Arizona Candidate Requirement for Signatures State Sen. Al Melvin to Drop Bid in Republican Gubernatorial Primary http://knau.org/post/state-sen-al-melvin-drop-bid-republican-gubernatorial-primary <p>Arizona state senator Al Melvin has announced he’s pulling out of the primary. As Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer, Melvin failed to gather enough small donations to make his campaign eligible for public funding.</p><p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 22:40:07 +0000 Howard Fischer 49212 at http://knau.org State Sen. Al Melvin to Drop Bid in Republican Gubernatorial Primary