State Capitol News http://knau.org en Fired U-of-A Medical Marijuana Researcher Appealing Dismissal http://knau.org/post/fired-u-medical-marijuana-researcher-appealing-dismissal <p>A University of Arizona doctor and researcher whose contract was not renewed is not going quietly. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 06:08:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 50320 at http://knau.org Fired U-of-A Medical Marijuana Researcher Appealing Dismissal Despite Slow Job Growth, Durable Goods Sales Up in Arizona http://knau.org/post/despite-slow-job-growth-durable-goods-sales-arizona <p>The state’s job growth may be slow. But, Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports that a new report shows that is not stopping the folks who <em>do</em> have jobs from spending money.</p><p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 11:59:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 50237 at http://knau.org Despite Slow Job Growth, Durable Goods Sales Up in Arizona Civil Rights Groups Seek Blockage of Arizona Abortion Law http://knau.org/post/civil-rights-groups-seek-blockage-arizona-abortion-law <p>Civil rights groups asked a federal appeals court Monday to let them try to block a state abortion law because of <em>why</em> they say it was approved. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 11:58:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 50236 at http://knau.org Civil Rights Groups Seek Blockage of Arizona Abortion Law State Health Department Green Lights Medical Marijuana for PTSD http://knau.org/post/state-health-department-green-lights-medical-marijuana-ptsd <p>Come January first, doctors will be able to recommend marijuana to their patients with post-traumatic stress disorder. But Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports, the legal fight may not be over.</p><p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:59:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 49993 at http://knau.org State Health Department Green Lights Medical Marijuana for PTSD No Voter-Proposed Laws for Arizona’s 2014 Ballot http://knau.org/post/no-voter-proposed-laws-arizona-s-2014-ballot <p>It hasn’t happened in more than 30 years, but Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports it looks like there won’t be any voter-proposed laws on the November ballot.</p><p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 49690 at http://knau.org No Voter-Proposed Laws for Arizona’s 2014 Ballot Arizona Secretary of State Candidates Debate Their Qualifications for Governor http://knau.org/post/arizona-secretary-state-candidates-debate-their-qualifications-governor <p>Three Republicans are vying to become the next secretary of state. So at a televised debate on KAET-TV Tuesday night, moderator Ted Simons asked them what qualifies them to be <em>governor</em>. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 14:59:42 +0000 Howard Fischer 49629 at http://knau.org Arizona Secretary of State Candidates Debate Their Qualifications for Governor UA Doctor Allegedly Fired for Pushing Medical Marijuana Research http://knau.org/post/ua-doctor-allegedly-fired-pushing-medical-marijuana-research <p>A University of Arizona doctor is being let go — she claims because of her lobbying on the issue of medical marijuana research. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 01:00:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 49628 at http://knau.org UA Doctor Allegedly Fired for Pushing Medical Marijuana Research Republican Gubernatorial Primary Ramps Up With Cash Influx http://knau.org/post/republican-gubernatorial-primary-ramps-cash-influx <p>A major auto dealer has become a prime force in trying to ensure that Doug Ducey is the Republican nominee for governor — and that Christine Jones is not. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 21:00:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 49626 at http://knau.org Republican Gubernatorial Primary Ramps Up With Cash Influx Arizona Food Prices Rise By 10 Percent http://knau.org/post/arizona-food-prices-rise-10-percent <p>Food costs have spiked in the state as a result of drought. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 17:10:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 49627 at http://knau.org Arizona Food Prices Rise By 10 Percent State Supreme Court Rules on Adult Protective Services Suit http://knau.org/post/state-supreme-court-rules-adult-protective-services-suit <p>The state Supreme Court ruled Monday that hospitals can be sued under laws designed to protect vulnerable adults. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 15:46:25 +0000 Howard Fischer 49575 at http://knau.org State Supreme Court Rules on Adult Protective Services Suit