taxes http://knau.org en Governor Signs Tax Break Bill Limited to Just Two Industries http://knau.org/post/governor-signs-tax-break-bill-limited-just-two-industries <p>Gov. Jan Brewer is defending a $17 million tax break she signed today for two kind of businesses and only two kinds. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 22:21:39 +0000 Howard Fischer 45916 at http://knau.org Governor Signs Tax Break Bill Limited to Just Two Industries State Lawmakers Seek a Change in Tax Brackets to Counter Inflation http://knau.org/post/state-lawmakers-seek-change-tax-brackets-counter-inflation <p>State lawmakers are one step away from working to keep taxpayers from being penalized because of inflation. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 16:31:53 +0000 Howard Fischer 45082 at http://knau.org State Lawmakers Seek a Change in Tax Brackets to Counter Inflation Lawmaker Aims to Save Taxpayers from Cost of Inflation http://knau.org/post/lawmaker-aims-save-taxpayers-cost-inflation <p>A state lawmaker wants to save taxpayers from the cost of inflation. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 19:54:13 +0000 Howard Fischer 43353 at http://knau.org Lawmaker Aims to Save Taxpayers from Cost of Inflation New Arizona Tax Credit for Foster Care http://knau.org/post/new-arizona-tax-credit-foster-care <p>Are you looking for a new way to divert some of what you owe the state? Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports on a new tax credit.</p><p> Mon, 30 Dec 2013 15:43:15 +0000 Howard Fischer 41570 at http://knau.org New Arizona Tax Credit for Foster Care Possible Arizona Tax Change Makes Some Lawmakers Nervous http://knau.org/post/possible-arizona-tax-change-makes-some-lawmakers-nervous <p>A special legislative panel voted Thursday to reduce the number of state income tax brackets. But, Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports that it’s what might come next that has some lawmakers concerned.</p><p> Fri, 13 Dec 2013 16:40:32 +0000 Howard Fischer 40949 at http://knau.org Possible Arizona Tax Change Makes Some Lawmakers Nervous Zombies and the Tax Code http://knau.org/post/zombies-and-tax-code <p>In a law review article, ASU professor Adam Chodorow warns that the state and the nation are ill prepared for a zombie apocalypse.</p><p>It&#39;s not the public health issues that concern Chodorow.</p><p>It&#39;s that the nation&#39;s tax laws are woefully inadequate to deal with the undead.</p><p>And part of the problem is that there&#39;s no consensus of when someone is truly dead. Even Arizona law is not very specific, saying only that a determination of death must be made in accordance with accepted medical standards.</p> Mon, 16 Jul 2012 16:50:10 +0000 Howard Fischer 17017 at http://knau.org Zombies and the Tax Code AZ Congressional GOP Opposes President's Middle Class Tax Cut http://knau.org/post/az-congressional-gop-opposes-presidents-middle-class-tax-cut <p>Republicans say Arizona businesses will suffer if President Obama is allowed to increase taxes on wealthier Americans.</p><p>&quot;The president is on the campaign trail this week calling on Congress to let the Bush-era tax cuts expire for individuals making more than two hundred and fifty thousand dollars a year. Arizona Republican Senator Jon Kyl says the president&rsquo;s plan would just prolong this lingering bad economy and cause further layoffs in Arizona.</p> Tue, 10 Jul 2012 22:55:51 +0000 Matt Laslo 16749 at http://knau.org AZ Senate Approves Continued Tax Credits for Film Industry http://knau.org/post/az-senate-approves-continued-tax-credits-film-industry <p>State senators voted Wednesday to resurrect a program giving generous tax credits to movie and TV producers who come here to make their shows.</p> Thu, 19 Apr 2012 16:06:15 +0000 Howard Fischer 12592 at http://knau.org AZ Senate Approves Continued Tax Credits for Film Industry Governor Brewer Signs Private School Tax Credit Bill http://knau.org/post/governor-brewer-signs-private-school-tax-credit-bill <p>Gov. Jan Brewer signed legislation Wednesday to allow individuals to divert more money they would otherwise owe the state to instead help children attend private and parochial schools.</p> Thu, 01 Mar 2012 16:09:43 +0000 Howard Fischer 10021 at http://knau.org House Ways and Means Committee Votes to Curb Tax Increases http://knau.org/post/house-ways-and-means-committee-votes-curb-tax-increases <p>The House Ways and Means Committee voted Monday to keep inflation from taking a bigger chunk of your tax dollar. Arizona Public Radio&#39;s Howard Fischer explains.</p> Tue, 24 Jan 2012 18:12:15 +0000 Howard Fischer 8085 at http://knau.org