economy http://knau.org en Despite Slow Job Growth, Durable Goods Sales Up in Arizona http://knau.org/post/despite-slow-job-growth-durable-goods-sales-arizona <p>The state’s job growth may be slow. But, Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports that a new report shows that is not stopping the folks who <em>do</em> have jobs from spending money.</p><p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 11:59:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 50237 at http://knau.org Despite Slow Job Growth, Durable Goods Sales Up in Arizona Despite Jobless Rate Drop, Arizona’s Economy Is Still Struggling http://knau.org/post/despite-jobless-rate-drop-arizona-s-economy-still-struggling <p>New figures today show the state’s jobless rate dropped a little bit last month. But, Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports that’s hardly sign of a health economy.</p><p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 22:00:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 49074 at http://knau.org Despite Jobless Rate Drop, Arizona’s Economy Is Still Struggling Job Growth Likely to Remain Stagnant for the Rest of 2014 http://knau.org/post/job-growth-likely-remain-stagnant-rest-2014 <p>A top state economist predicted today that job growth here will be stagnant for the rest of the year. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Thu, 01 May 2014 23:39:45 +0000 Howard Fischer 46834 at http://knau.org Job Growth Likely to Remain Stagnant for the Rest of 2014 State Unemployment Drops Amid Mixed Economic Outlook http://knau.org/post/state-unemployment-drops-amid-mixed-economic-outlook <p>The state’s jobless rate dropped by two-tenths of a point last month. But, Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports the economic outlook is far more mixed.</p><p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 19:56:01 +0000 Howard Fischer 45201 at http://knau.org State Unemployment Drops Amid Mixed Economic Outlook Arizona Population Growth Equals Economic Recovery http://knau.org/post/arizona-population-growth-equals-economic-recovery <p>A panel of economists said Wednesday they believe the state’s economic future appears to be a chicken-and-egg situation. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Thu, 05 Dec 2013 16:35:31 +0000 Howard Fischer 40582 at http://knau.org Arizona Population Growth Equals Economic Recovery State's Joblesss Rate Up Slightly http://knau.org/post/states-joblesss-rate-slightly <p>New figures from the Department of Administration put the seasonally adjusted unemployment rate for December at 7.9 percent. That's up a tenth of a point from November. Thu, 17 Jan 2013 20:28:04 +0000 Howard Fischer 26040 at http://knau.org Car Sales Up in AZ http://knau.org/post/car-sales-az <p>Car sales are up across the country and Arizona is no exception. Fri, 04 Jan 2013 00:03:08 +0000 Mark Bevis 25456 at http://knau.org Housing Starts in AZ Up http://knau.org/post/housing-starts-az <p>Housing starts across the country are at their highest annual rate since 2008. Tue, 20 Nov 2012 23:36:34 +0000 Mark Bevis 23663 at http://knau.org Housing Starts in AZ Up Thanksgiver Dinner Cheaper This Year http://knau.org/post/thanksgiver-dinner-cheaper-year <p>It's going to be a bit cheaper to feed the hungry horde around your Thanksgiving table this year -- and a lot cheaper if you're into organic. Wed, 14 Nov 2012 21:04:58 +0000 Howard Fischer 23378 at http://knau.org Thanksgiver Dinner Cheaper This Year State Minimum Wage to Rise http://knau.org/post/state-minimum-wage-rise <p>Folks at the bottom of the pay scale are soon going to get a bit of relief.&nbsp;</p><p>The reason is a 2006 voter-approved law which established a state minimum wage separate from the federal figure. More to the point, that law requires the Industrial Commission to adjust the figure every year. Karen Axsom, director of the commission's labor department, explains.</p><p>"It's based on the consumer price index from August to August of each year. And there was a 1.7 percent increase. We round up to 15 cents," Axsom said.</p> Fri, 19 Oct 2012 23:43:46 +0000 Howard Fischer 22075 at http://knau.org