state unemployment http://knau.org en State Unemployment Drops Amid Mixed Economic Outlook http://knau.org/post/state-unemployment-drops-amid-mixed-economic-outlook <p>The state’s jobless rate dropped by two-tenths of a point last month. But, Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports the economic outlook is far more mixed.</p><p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 19:56:01 +0000 Howard Fischer 45201 at http://knau.org State Unemployment Drops Amid Mixed Economic Outlook State's Joblesss Rate Up Slightly http://knau.org/post/states-joblesss-rate-slightly <p>New figures from the Department of Administration put the seasonally adjusted unemployment rate for December at 7.9 percent. That's up a tenth of a point from November. Thu, 17 Jan 2013 20:28:04 +0000 Howard Fischer 26040 at http://knau.org AZ Unemployment Numbers Drop Again http://knau.org/post/az-unemployment-numbers-drop-again <p>The state's jobless rate last month dropped to its lowest level in four years. Thu, 20 Dec 2012 22:17:19 +0000 Howard Fischer 24947 at http://knau.org New Report Predicts Job Growth in Upcoming Year http://knau.org/post/new-report-predicts-job-growth-upcoming-year <p>It doesn't match the boom years of the last decade. But a new report today predicts the state will add close to 61,000 jobs this coming year. Thu, 01 Nov 2012 20:57:16 +0000 Howard Fischer 22694 at http://knau.org Good and Bad News of AZ's Jobless Rates http://knau.org/post/good-and-bad-news-azs-jobless-rates <p>The state's jobless rate jumped a bit last month. But&nbsp;that may hide some of the good news.</p><p>On paper, the seasonally adjusted unemployment rate for July was 8.3 percent. And the number of people working last month was less than in June. But economist Aruna Murthy of the state Department of Administration said Arizona always loses jobs in July. More to the point, the losses this year were only half as much as what usually happens. What also is significant is this is the fifth month in a row where the year-over-year growth in private sector employment is higher than 2 percent.</p> Thu, 16 Aug 2012 23:23:46 +0000 Howard Fischer 18794 at http://knau.org State Unemployment Numbers Continue to Improve http://knau.org/post/state-unemployment-numbers-continue-improve <p>The <a href="http://www.azstats.gov/pubs/labor/PrMar12.pdf ">state&#39;s jobless rate dropped </a>three-tenths of a point in January for the month before.&nbsp;</p><p>The 8.7 percent unemployment rate announced by the Department of Administration is the same rate officials had said was the figure for December. But since that time, the statistics have been through an annual benchmarking revision. So, as of now, the official state rate for December is not 8.7 percent but 9 percent. Aruna Murthy, the agency&#39;s director of economic analysis, said such adjustments are inevitable.</p> Thu, 08 Mar 2012 21:16:28 +0000 Howard Fischer 10408 at http://knau.org State's Unemployment Rate Remains Steady http://knau.org/post/states-unemployment-rate-remains-steady <p>The state&#39;s unemployment rate remained steady last month amid lackluster job growth in the private sector. Arizona Public Radio&#39;s Howard Fischer explains.</p> Thu, 19 Jan 2012 22:20:10 +0000 Howard Fischer 7847 at http://knau.org