election 2012 http://knau.org en Coconino County Officials Predict Heavy Turnout http://knau.org/post/coconino-county-officials-predict-heavy-turnout <p>Coconino County Recorder Candace Owens is predicting about a 75% turnout for today’s election. Tue, 06 Nov 2012 23:25:22 +0000 Mark Bevis 22962 at http://knau.org Latino Evangelicals Poised To Wield More Political Power http://knau.org/post/latino-evangelicals-poised-wield-more-political-power <p>Services at the Spanish-language chapel of a Las Vegas Evangelical church are anything but quiet. On Tuesday nights, at least 60 Latinos gather to praise God with arms in the air before Bible study begins.</p> Tue, 23 Oct 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Veronica Zaragovia 22171 at http://knau.org Latino Evangelicals Poised To Wield More Political Power AZ Dems Inspired by President's Speech to DNC http://knau.org/post/az-dems-inspired-presidents-speech-dnc <p>Arizona delegates at the Democratic National Convention say President Obama’s speech last evening is inspiring them to spread his message when they return home. Fri, 07 Sep 2012 17:00:00 +0000 Matt Laslo 19933 at http://knau.org No Real Surprises in AZ Primary Elections http://knau.org/post/no-real-surprises-az-primary-elections <p><span lang="EN">After Tuesday's primaries, a lot of the losing campaigns across Arizona are packing up their headquarters. Wed, 29 Aug 2012 21:06:14 +0000 Mark Bevis 19442 at http://knau.org Kirkpatrick and Paton to Face off in CD1 in November http://knau.org/post/kirkpatrick-and-paton-face-cd1-november <p>By a nearly 2 to 1 margin, Ann Kirkpatrick swept the democratic primary in Congresssional District 1 yesterday. Wed, 29 Aug 2012 17:44:33 +0000 Mark Bevis 19421 at http://knau.org Low Voter Turnout on Primary Day http://knau.org/post/low-voter-turnout-primary-day <p><font size="5">It's been slow going at polling places across Coconino County for today's Democratic and Republican primaries. Tue, 28 Aug 2012 21:44:09 +0000 Mark Bevis 19380 at http://knau.org More Than Ever, Latinos Distancing From Republican Party http://knau.org/post/more-ever-latinos-distancing-republican-party <p>There are more Latino registered voters in this election cycle than in 2008 -- and a study shows this could be the deciding factor in several battleground states, including those in the Southwest. Wed, 15 Aug 2012 00:22:11 +0000 Nadine Arroyo Rodriguez 18658 at http://knau.org AZ's 1st Cong. District is the 10th Largest in the Country, Making Campaigning Challenging http://knau.org/post/azs-1st-cong-district-10th-largest-country-making-campaigning-challenging <p>Arizona&rsquo;s newly drawn 1st Congressional District is the size of Pennsylvania. It&rsquo;s the tenth largest in the nation, taking up almost two-thirds of the state, from the Arizona-Utah border all the way down the eastern half of the state to just north of Tucson. That makes it tricky for candidates to campaign.</p> Mon, 06 Aug 2012 11:00:00 +0000 18000 at http://knau.org AZ's 1st Cong. District is the 10th Largest in the Country, Making Campaigning Challenging