Governor Jan Brewer http://knau.org en Defeated Texas State Senator Aiding Gov. Brewer’s PAC http://knau.org/post/defeated-texas-state-senator-aiding-gov-brewer-s-pac <p>A Texas state senator defeated in his bid for reelection earlier this year is now helping Gov. Jan Brewer elect candidates <em>she</em> likes to Congress. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 11:59:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 50321 at http://knau.org Defeated Texas State Senator Aiding Gov. Brewer’s PAC Gov. Brewer Contemplates Who She’ll Support In Upcoming Elections http://knau.org/post/gov-brewer-contemplates-who-she-ll-support-upcoming-elections <p>Gov. Jan Brewer is building up a political warchest to help influence who controls the Legislature for the next two years — and potentially who succeeds her. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 22:52:19 +0000 Howard Fischer 49665 at http://knau.org Gov. Brewer Contemplates Who She’ll Support In Upcoming Elections Immigrant Influx Draws Media Criticism from Gov. Brewer http://knau.org/post/immigrant-influx-draws-media-criticism-gov-brewer <p>The way Gov. Jan Brewer sees it, the media should be doing more to press the Obama administration for answers about the flood of immigrants across the border. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 16:00:37 +0000 Howard Fischer 49240 at http://knau.org Immigrant Influx Draws Media Criticism from Gov. Brewer The Governor Criticizes State Income Tax Elimination Proposals http://knau.org/post/governor-criticizes-state-income-tax-elimination-proposals <p>Gov. Jan Brewer does not think much of proposals by some of those who would succeed her to eliminate the state income tax. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 15:29:56 +0000 Howard Fischer 49018 at http://knau.org The Governor Criticizes State Income Tax Elimination Proposals Gov. Brewer Mulls an Anti-Gay Discrimination Law http://knau.org/post/gov-brewer-mulls-anti-gay-discrimination-law <p>Gov. Jan Brewer said Tuesday it may be time to consider whether the state should ban discrimination against gays. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 11:59:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 48957 at http://knau.org Gov. Brewer Mulls an Anti-Gay Discrimination Law Governor Vetoes Death Penalty, Gun and Rideshare Bills http://knau.org/post/governor-vetoes-death-penalty-gun-and-rideshare-bills <p>Gov. Jan Brewer vetoed legislation Thursday that would have allowed more criminals to be executed. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Fri, 25 Apr 2014 17:50:27 +0000 Howard Fischer 46546 at http://knau.org Governor Vetoes Death Penalty, Gun and Rideshare Bills SB 1070 Legal Defense Funds Running Dry http://knau.org/post/sb-1070-legal-defense-funds-running-dry <p>The donations to defend the state’s controversial 2010 immigration law are running out. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer took a closer look.</p><p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 17:37:52 +0000 Howard Fischer 46371 at http://knau.org SB 1070 Legal Defense Funds Running Dry Supreme Court Refuses to Let State Enforce Immigraiton Provision http://knau.org/post/supreme-court-refuses-let-state-enforce-immigraiton-provision <p>The U.S. Supreme Court has refused to let the state start enforcing another provision of its controversial 2010 immigration law. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 21:27:12 +0000 Howard Fischer 46340 at http://knau.org Supreme Court Refuses to Let State Enforce Immigraiton Provision Abortion Clinic Inspection Bill Heads to Governor’s Desk http://knau.org/post/abortion-clinic-inspection-bill-heads-governor-s-desk <p>Wednesday’s party-line Senate vote to allow unannounced warrantless inspections of abortion clinics leaves only one hurdle before the measure becomes law — Governor Jan Brewer. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 11:58:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 45827 at http://knau.org Abortion Clinic Inspection Bill Heads to Governor’s Desk Appealing to the Governor, State Senators Beef Up Budget http://knau.org/post/appealing-governor-state-senators-beef-budget <p>State senators adopted a nearly $9.2 billion spending plan Thursday night. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 17:35:15 +0000 Howard Fischer 44924 at http://knau.org Appealing to the Governor, State Senators Beef Up Budget