Medicaid http://knau.org en Court Rules That Lawmakers Can Still Challenge Medicaid Expansion http://knau.org/post/court-rules-lawmakers-can-still-challenge-medicaid-expansion <p>The state Court of Appeals ruled today that lawmakers on the losing end of last year's Medicaid expansion fight have a constitutional right to challenge the law and the levy it imposes. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 23:22:27 +0000 Howard Fischer 46398 at http://knau.org Court Rules That Lawmakers Can Still Challenge Medicaid Expansion Health Care Could Dry Up for Arizona's Long-term Unemployed http://knau.org/post/health-care-could-dry-arizonas-long-term-unemployed-0 <p>More than 140,000 of the state's long-term unemployed could eventually find themselves without health insurance. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 10:59:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 46204 at http://knau.org Health Care Could Dry Up for Arizona's Long-term Unemployed Health Care Could Dry Up for Arizona's Long-term Unemployed http://knau.org/post/health-care-could-dry-arizonas-long-term-unemployed <p>More than 140,000 of the state's long-term unemployed could eventually find themselves without health insurance. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 10:59:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 46203 at http://knau.org Health Care Could Dry Up for Arizona's Long-term Unemployed Arizona House Votes for Five-Year Lifetime Cap on Medicaid http://knau.org/post/arizona-house-votes-five-year-lifetime-cap-medicaid <p>The state House voted Thursday to put a five-year lifetime cap on government-funded health care — but not on everyone. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 11:50:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 44291 at http://knau.org Arizona House Votes for Five-Year Lifetime Cap on Medicaid Lawmaker Putting Up a Fight to the State’s Medicaid Expansion http://knau.org/post/lawmaker-putting-fight-state-s-medicaid-expansion <p>A state lawmaker is proposing legislation he concedes has no chance of approval, but he believes is necessary to keep up the fight. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Fri, 17 Jan 2014 21:51:15 +0000 Howard Fischer 42297 at http://knau.org Lawmaker Putting Up a Fight to the State’s Medicaid Expansion Group claims Brewer Medicaid expansion will bloat the system http://knau.org/post/group-claims-brewer-medicaid-expansion-will-bloat-system <p>In a report, a free-market advocacy group claims that the decision by Gov. Jan Brewer to expand Medicaid will sharply increase the number of people in the program. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Tue, 10 Dec 2013 16:52:39 +0000 Howard Fischer 40788 at http://knau.org Group claims Brewer Medicaid expansion will bloat the system Southwest Governors Say Yes To Medicaid Expansion http://knau.org/post/southwest-governors-say-yes-medicaid-expansion <p>Three Republican governors in the Southwest have announced in the past few weeks their support for an expansion of Medicaid under the <a href="http://www.healthcare.gov/law/index.html"><u><font color="#0066cc">Affordable Care Act</font></u></a>, despite longstanding Republican opposition to the plan. Thu, 17 Jan 2013 20:53:16 +0000 Jude Joffe-Block 26043 at http://knau.org Business Leaders Support Gov's Plan to Expand Medicaid http://knau.org/post/business-leaders-support-govs-plan-expand-medicaid <p>Gov. Jan Brewer rallied hospital executive and business leaders Wednesday in her bid to expand the state's Medicaid program. Thu, 17 Jan 2013 17:51:52 +0000 Howard Fischer 26020 at http://knau.org Business Leaders Support Gov's Plan to Expand Medicaid Republican Lawmakers Not Happy with Gov's Plan to Expand Medicaid http://knau.org/post/republican-lawmakers-not-happy-govs-plan-expand-medicaid <p>The plan by Gov. Jan Brewer to expand the state's Medicaid program is getting raised eyebrows from members of her own Republican Party. Tue, 15 Jan 2013 18:30:58 +0000 Howard Fischre 25924 at http://knau.org Republican Lawmakers Not Happy with Gov's Plan to Expand Medicaid Gov Brewer Says Yes to Expanding Medicaid http://knau.org/post/gov-brewer-says-yes-expanding-medicaid <p>Saying it makes no sense to turn away federal funds, Gov. Jan Brewer this afternoon asked lawmakers to expand the state's Medicaid program. Mon, 14 Jan 2013 23:36:43 +0000 Howard Fischer 25890 at http://knau.org Gov Brewer Says Yes to Expanding Medicaid