Associated Press http://knau.org en Taliban Suspends Talks On Prisoner Exchange http://knau.org/post/taliban-suspends-talks-prisoner-exchange The Taliban has suspended talks over a possible exchange of Taliban and U.S. prisoners due to the "complexity" of the situation in Afghanistan, the militant group said on Sunday.<p>"Due to the political complexity of the current situation in the country, the leadership of the Islamic Emirate has decided to suspend the issue for some time," Taliban spokesman Zabihullah Mujahid said in an email to media organizations, using the name the Taliban gave their 1996-2001 government.<p>"Therefore, the prisoner exchange process has been delayed until further notice," Mujahid said. Sun, 23 Feb 2014 06:01:00 +0000 Associated Press 43798 at http://knau.org One Dead, 28 Sickened By Carbon Monoxide At New York Mall http://knau.org/post/one-dead-carbon-monoxide-poisening-new-york-mall A 55-year-old restaurant manager died and more than two dozen others were taken to hospitals Saturday after being overcome by carbon monoxide at a New York mall, police said.<p>Suffolk County police identified the man who died as Steven Nelson, a manager at the Legal Sea Foods restaurant at the Walt Whitman Shops in Huntington Station on Long Island.<p>Police said 28 others affected by carbon monoxide were taken to area hospitals.<p>Three officers were among those overcome by carbon monoxide at the mall, which is about 35 miles east of New York City, police said. Sun, 23 Feb 2014 05:39:00 +0000 Associated Press 43797 at http://knau.org Boeing Machinists Approve Contract To Secure 777X Work http://knau.org/post/boeing-machinists-approve-contract-secure-777x-work The stakes were high and the vote was close as Boeing production workers agreed to concede some benefits in order to secure assembly of the new 777X airplane for the Puget Sound region.<p>Washington Gov. Sat, 04 Jan 2014 12:08:00 +0000 Associated Press 41768 at http://knau.org Boeing Machinists Approve Contract To Secure 777X Work 'Fast & Furious' Star Dies In Car Crash http://knau.org/post/fast-furious-star-dies-car-crash Paul Walker, the star of the "Fast & Furious" movie series, died Saturday in a car crash that killed one other person north of Los Angeles, his publicist said. He was 40.<p>Walker died Saturday afternoon, Ame Van Iden told the Associated Press.<p>A statement on the actor's Facebook page said he was a passenger in a friend's car, and that Walker was in the area to attend a charity event for his organization Reach Out Worldwide.<p>"We ... Sun, 01 Dec 2013 05:52:00 +0000 Associated Press 40394 at http://knau.org 'Fast & Furious' Star Dies In Car Crash Three U.S. Economists Win Nobel Prize http://knau.org/post/three-us-economists-win-nobel-prize Americans Eugene Fama, Lars Peter Hansen and Robert Shiller won the Nobel prize for economics on Monday for developing new methods to study trends in asset markets.<p>The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said the three had laid the foundation of the current understanding of asset prices.<p>While it's hard to predict whether stock or bond prices will go up or down in the short term, it's possible to foresee movements over periods of three years or longer, the academy said.<p>"These findings, which might seem surprising and contradictory, were made and analyzed by this year's laureates," the ac Mon, 14 Oct 2013 11:29:00 +0000 Associated Press 38376 at http://knau.org Associated Press Calls Kirkpatrick the Winner in CD1 http://knau.org/post/associated-press-calls-kirkpatrick-winner-cd1 <p><font size="5">Former Democratic Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick has defeated former Republican state lawmaker Jonathan Paton to win Arizona's 1st Congressional District seat. Wed, 07 Nov 2012 22:46:10 +0000 Associated Press 23058 at http://knau.org Associated Press Calls Kirkpatrick the Winner in CD1 Border Patrol Agent Nicholas May Have Died from Friendly Fire http://knau.org/post/border-patrol-agent-nicholas-may-have-died-friendly-fire <p><font size="5">Two law enforcement officers tell The Associated Press the FBI is investigating the possibility that the shooting death of a border patrol agent and the wounding of another was a case of friendly fire. Fri, 05 Oct 2012 23:42:17 +0000 Associated Press 21375 at http://knau.org An Update on the Investigation into Sheriff Dever's Fatal Car Accident http://knau.org/post/update-investigation-sheriff-devers-fatal-car-accident <p><font size="5">Authorities say the Cochise County sheriff who lost control of his vehicle in northern Arizona and died had alcohol in his system. Fri, 05 Oct 2012 23:38:20 +0000 Associated Press 21374 at http://knau.org AG Horne Accused of Campaign Finance Violations http://knau.org/post/ag-horne-accused-campaign-finance-violations <p><font size="5">A county prosecutor is accusing Arizona Attorney General Tom Horne of campaign finance violations during his 2010 campaign. Mon, 01 Oct 2012 20:51:17 +0000 Associated Press 21110 at http://knau.org AG Horne Accused of Campaign Finance Violations Supreme Court Rejects Part Of Arizona Immigration Law http://knau.org/post/supreme-court-rejects-part-arizona-immigration-law <p><a href="http://www.fronterasdesk.org/documents/2012/jun/25/united-states-vs-arizona/">The Supreme Court </a>threw out key provisions of Arizona&#39;s crackdown on illegal immigrants Monday but said a much-debated portion could go forward on checking the status of suspects who might appear to be in the U.S. illegally.</p> Mon, 25 Jun 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Associated Press 16103 at http://knau.org Supreme Court Rejects Part Of Arizona Immigration Law