Michel Marizco http://knau.org en Broken Border Series Part 4: What Border Security Really Means http://knau.org/post/broken-border-series-part-4-what-border-security-really-means <p>In the latest in our series Broken Border, Immigration Reform in the Southwest, Fronteras reporter Michel Marizco looks at what border security means and whether the U.S. has reached its goal.</p><p> Thu, 24 Jan 2013 16:47:36 +0000 Michel Marizco 26321 at http://knau.org US Issues Another Mexico Travel Warning http://knau.org/post/us-issues-another-mexico-travel-warning <p>The State Department has renewed its <a href="http://travel.state.gov/travel/cis_pa_tw/tw/tw_5815.html"><u><font color="#0066cc">travel warning</font></u></a> for Mexico, saying that drug violence there can be a danger to Americans. Wed, 21 Nov 2012 22:53:24 +0000 Michel Marizco 23717 at http://knau.org Race In Arizona Border District Too Close To Call http://knau.org/post/race-arizona-border-district-too-close-call <p>The race for an <a href="http://www.fronterasdesk.org/news/2012/nov/05/republican-threatening-unseat-giffords-replacement/"><u><font color="#0066cc">important border Congressional District in Arizona</font></u></a> has fallen to a difference of little more than 400 votes as the tallying of the final numbers continues. A final count could still be days away. Thu, 08 Nov 2012 16:24:56 +0000 Michel Marizco 23085 at http://knau.org Mexican Military Arrests Two In Border Patrol Murder Case http://knau.org/post/mexican-military-arrests-two-border-patrol-murder-case <p>The Mexican military arrested two suspects in the <a href="http://www.fronterasdesk.org/news/2012/oct/02/border-patrol-agent-fatally-shot-southern-arizona/"><u><font color="#0066cc">murder of Border Patrol agent Nicholas Ivie</font></u></a>.</p><p>Reuters news is reporting that the Mexican Army arrested two people Wednesday morning in Agua Prieta, Sonora. The border town lies about 15 miles southeast of where the murder took place.</p><p>An FBI spokeswoman in Phoenix said she cannot confirm the arrests.</p> Thu, 04 Oct 2012 19:31:30 +0000 Michel Marizco 21292 at http://knau.org Applications Accepted Wednesday for Deportation Repreive http://knau.org/post/applications-accepted-wednesday-deportation-repreive <p class="p1" style="margin: 1em 0in;"><font size="3"><font face="Times New Roman">The United States will begin accepting applications tomorrow for qualifying illegal immigrants to be granted a two year reprieve from deportation. Wed, 15 Aug 2012 00:26:39 +0000 Michel Marizco 18659 at http://knau.org The Impact Of A Mixed SB 1070 Ruling On Arizona http://knau.org/post/impact-mixed-sb-1070-ruling-arizona <p>The United States Supreme Court <a href="http://www.cochise.az.gov/cochise_sheriff.aspx?id=2436&amp;ekmensel=c580fa7b_190_0_2436_10"><u><font color="#0066cc">ruled Monday</font></u></a> on Arizona&rsquo;s immigration law, known as SB 1070. It was a mixed ruling. The court struck down most of the law, but upheld the most controversial provision.</p> Mon, 25 Jun 2012 23:00:00 +0000 Peter O'Dowd & Michel Marizco 16097 at http://knau.org Arizona Ranchers, Lawmen React To Court's SB 1070 Decision http://knau.org/post/arizona-ranchers-lawmen-react-courts-sb-1070-decision <p>The Supreme Court&rsquo;s decision <a href="http://www.fronterasdesk.org/news/2012/jun/25/supreme-court-rejects-part-arizona-immigration-law/"><u><font color="#0066cc">overturning key parts of SB 1070</font></u></a> was no surprise to some Arizona border residents. But they have a question, and it&#39;s a sticking point: What is the U.S. going to do about border enforcement in their backyards?</p> Mon, 25 Jun 2012 23:00:00 +0000 Michel Marizco 16102 at http://knau.org Democrats Hold Seat in S. AZ Special Election http://knau.org/post/democrats-hold-seat-s-az-special-election <p><span style="font-family: &quot;Times New Roman&quot;,&quot;serif&quot;; font-size: 12pt; mso-fareast-font-family: Calibri; mso-fareast-theme-font: minor-latin; mso-ansi-language: EN-US; mso-fareast-language: EN-US; mso-bidi-language: AR-SA;">Democrat Ron Barber won the special election&nbsp;Tuesday. He&rsquo;ll serve out former Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords&rsquo; remaining six month term after she was forced to retire following last year&#39;s assassination attempt.&nbsp;</span></p> Wed, 13 Jun 2012 17:06:10 +0000 Michel Marizco 15384 at http://knau.org Democrats Hold Seat in S. AZ Special Election AZ Lawmakers Want Travel Warning for Southern Arizona http://knau.org/post/az-lawmakers-want-travel-warning-southern-arizona <p class="p1" style="margin: 1em 0in;"><font size="3"><font face="Times New Roman">For years, the United States has issued travel warnings for visitors to Mexico,&nbsp;but now a group of lawmakers want one issued for <i>southern Arizona</i>.&nbsp;That has officials along the Arizona border upset. They say a state travel warning will scare tourists away.</font></font></p> Fri, 09 Mar 2012 16:55:30 +0000 Michel Marizco 10457 at http://knau.org Tucson Unified School District Ends Mexican American Studies Program http://knau.org/post/tucson-unified-school-district-ends-mexican-american-studies-program <p class="p1" style="margin: 1em 0in;"><font size="3"><font face="Times New Roman"><span style="font-family: &quot;Times New Roman&quot;,&quot;serif&quot;; font-size: 12pt; mso-fareast-font-family: Calibri; mso-fareast-theme-font: minor-latin; mso-ansi-language: EN-US; mso-fareast-language: EN-US; mso-bidi-language: AR-SA;">The Tucson Unified School District voted four-to-one to end its Mexican American Studies Program late Tuesday night. The school district risked losing $15 million if it continued teaching ethnic studies as they were being taught. Wed, 11 Jan 2012 16:53:17 +0000 Michel Marizco 7379 at http://knau.org