Parker Olson http://knau.org en Doctor Shortages Cause Delays for the V.A. http://knau.org/post/doctor-shortages-cause-delays-va <p>U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs hospitals across the country are experiencing a lack of doctors. As Arizona Public Radio’s Parker Olson reports, the situation is causing delays at these facilities.</p><p> Thu, 12 Jun 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Parker Olson 48663 at http://knau.org Doctor Shortages Cause Delays for the V.A. Officials Manage the Galahad Fire on the North Rim of the Grand Canyon http://knau.org/post/officials-manage-galahad-fire-north-rim-grand-canyon <p>The lightning-caused Galahad Fire is slowly burning on the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. As Arizona Public Radio’s Parker Olson reports, National Park officials are letting the 223-acre fire burn.</p><p> Thu, 29 May 2014 11:31:00 +0000 Parker Olson 48077 at http://knau.org Officials Manage the Galahad Fire on the North Rim of the Grand Canyon Flagstaff's First-Ever Pat’s Run Set for Saturday http://knau.org/post/flagstaffs-first-ever-pat-s-run-set-saturday <p>The inaugural run honoring Pat Tillman, Former Arizona Cardinal and Army Ranger who was killed by friendly fire, will be held tomorrow in Flagstaff. As Arizona Public Radio’s Parker Olson reports, it’s the first ever for the city.</p><p> Fri, 25 Apr 2014 18:00:16 +0000 Parker Olson 46547 at http://knau.org Flagstaff's First-Ever Pat’s Run Set for Saturday State Senate Aims to Tighten Assisted Suicide Laws http://knau.org/post/state-senate-aims-tighten-assisted-suicide-laws <p>The state Senate has given initial approval to a bill that would make it easier to prosecute those who assist others in suicide. As Arizona Public Radio’s Parker Olson reports, the bill was prompted by several recent cases of assisted suicide in Arizona.</p><p> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Parker Olson 46390 at http://knau.org State Senate Aims to Tighten Assisted Suicide Laws Advocacy Groups are Working to Protect Arizona Cyclists http://knau.org/post/advocacy-groups-are-working-protect-arizona-cyclists <p>Bicycling advocacy groups in Arizona are working to pass several bills related to bike safety. Arizona Public Radio’s Parker Olson reports.</p><p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 15:29:23 +0000 Parker Olson 45992 at http://knau.org Advocacy Groups are Working to Protect Arizona Cyclists Panhandling Ordinance Finds Support Among Flagstaff’s Downtown Businesses http://knau.org/post/panhandling-ordinance-finds-support-among-flagstaff-s-downtown-businesses <p>Earlier this week, the Flagstaff City Council gave initial approval of an ordinance to stop aggressive panhandling. As Arizona Public Radio’s Parker Olson reports, many local businesses support the measure.</p><p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Parker Olson 45542 at http://knau.org Panhandling Ordinance Finds Support Among Flagstaff’s Downtown Businesses Deadly Lead Levels Decrease in California Condors http://knau.org/post/deadly-lead-levels-decrease-california-condors <p>Lead toxicity is the leading cause of diagnosed death for California condors in the wild. As Arizona Public Radio’s Parker Olson reports, the number of birds with lead poisoning has decreased for the first time in a decade.</p><p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 17:48:49 +0000 Parker Olson 44608 at http://knau.org Deadly Lead Levels Decrease in California Condors Hwy. 89A Between Flagstaff and Sedona to Close for Five Weeks This Summer http://knau.org/post/hwy-89a-between-flagstaff-and-sedona-close-five-weeks-summer <p>The stretch of 89A between Flagstaff and Sedona will be closed for construction this summer as repairs to the switchbacks are made. But, as Arizona Public Radio’s Parker Olson reports, the repairs will not widen a narrow stretch of road.</p><p> Wed, 12 Mar 2014 15:28:38 +0000 Parker Olson 44501 at http://knau.org Hwy. 89A Between Flagstaff and Sedona to Close for Five Weeks This Summer