Howard Fischer http://knau.org en Voter Indecision Looms in Home Stretch of Gubernatorial Primary http://knau.org/post/voter-indecision-looms-home-stretch-gubernatorial-primary <p>Early voting starts at the end of the week. But, as Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports, a new statewide poll shows half of Republicans undecided about who they support for governor.</p><p> Tue, 29 Jul 2014 21:32:32 +0000 Howard Fischer 50859 at http://knau.org Voter Indecision Looms in Home Stretch of Gubernatorial Primary Final Debate Turns Contentious in State Attorney General Primary http://knau.org/post/final-debate-turns-contentious-state-attorney-general-primary <p>The two Republican candidates for attorney general faced off Monday night in their last televised debate before early voting starts this week. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer was there.</p><p> Tue, 29 Jul 2014 15:32:43 +0000 Howard Fischer 50830 at http://knau.org Final Debate Turns Contentious in State Attorney General Primary State Law Restricting Abortion Medication Could Head to U.S. Supreme Court http://knau.org/post/state-law-restricting-abortion-medication-could-head-us-supreme-court <p>A federal appeals court has given the state the go-ahead to seek Supreme Court review of its decision restricting use of a controversial abortion drug. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 50809 at http://knau.org State Law Restricting Abortion Medication Could Head to U.S. Supreme Court Former Phoenix Mayor Pushing Open Primary Elections in Arizona http://knau.org/post/former-phoenix-mayor-pushing-open-primary-elections-arizona <p>Voters may get another chance to decide if they want to create nonpartisan elections in the state. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 15:37:32 +0000 Howard Fischer 50781 at http://knau.org Former Phoenix Mayor Pushing Open Primary Elections in Arizona Defeated Texas State Senator Aiding Gov. Brewer’s PAC http://knau.org/post/defeated-texas-state-senator-aiding-gov-brewer-s-pac <p>A Texas state senator defeated in his bid for reelection earlier this year is now helping Gov. Jan Brewer elect candidates <em>she</em> likes to Congress. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 11:59:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 50321 at http://knau.org Defeated Texas State Senator Aiding Gov. Brewer’s PAC Fired U-of-A Medical Marijuana Researcher Appealing Dismissal http://knau.org/post/fired-u-medical-marijuana-researcher-appealing-dismissal <p>A University of Arizona doctor and researcher whose contract was not renewed is not going quietly. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports.</p><p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 06:08:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 50320 at http://knau.org Fired U-of-A Medical Marijuana Researcher Appealing Dismissal Despite Slow Job Growth, Durable Goods Sales Up in Arizona http://knau.org/post/despite-slow-job-growth-durable-goods-sales-arizona <p>The state’s job growth may be slow. But, Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports that a new report shows that is not stopping the folks who <em>do</em> have jobs from spending money.</p><p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 11:59:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 50237 at http://knau.org Despite Slow Job Growth, Durable Goods Sales Up in Arizona Civil Rights Groups Seek Blockage of Arizona Abortion Law http://knau.org/post/civil-rights-groups-seek-blockage-arizona-abortion-law <p>Civil rights groups asked a federal appeals court Monday to let them try to block a state abortion law because of <em>why</em> they say it was approved. Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer explains.</p><p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 11:58:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 50236 at http://knau.org Civil Rights Groups Seek Blockage of Arizona Abortion Law State Health Department Green Lights Medical Marijuana for PTSD http://knau.org/post/state-health-department-green-lights-medical-marijuana-ptsd <p>Come January first, doctors will be able to recommend marijuana to their patients with post-traumatic stress disorder. But Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports, the legal fight may not be over.</p><p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:59:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 49993 at http://knau.org State Health Department Green Lights Medical Marijuana for PTSD No Voter-Proposed Laws for Arizona’s 2014 Ballot http://knau.org/post/no-voter-proposed-laws-arizona-s-2014-ballot <p>It hasn’t happened in more than 30 years, but Arizona Public Radio’s Howard Fischer reports it looks like there won’t be any voter-proposed laws on the November ballot.</p><p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Howard Fischer 49690 at http://knau.org No Voter-Proposed Laws for Arizona’s 2014 Ballot