Adrian Florido http://knau.org en Deportations Are Up, But Is Anyone Applauding? http://knau.org/post/deportations-are-anyone-applauding <p>Every year, the Department of Homeland Security releases statistics showing how many deportations its enforcement agencies -– Immigration and Customs, the Border Patrol -- have carried out in the previous year. Fri, 14 Sep 2012 00:22:28 +0000 Adrian Florido 20249 at http://knau.org Deportations Are Up, But Is Anyone Applauding? As Heat Dries Land And Lake, Asthma Fears Rise In Imperial County http://knau.org/post/heat-dries-land-and-lake-asthma-fears-rise-imperial-county <p><a href="https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Imperial_County,_California"><u><font color="#0066cc">Imperial County</font></u></a>, east of San Diego, has one of the <a href="http://www.kpbs.org/news/2012/jul/16/imperial-countys-kids-asthma-more-likely-visit-er/"><u><font color="#0066cc">worst childhood asthma problems</font></u></a> in California. Thu, 16 Aug 2012 23:34:19 +0000 Adrian Florido 18795 at http://knau.org As Heat Dries Land And Lake, Asthma Fears Rise In Imperial County Plan For Southbound Border Inspection Booths Raises Health Concerns http://knau.org/post/plan-southbound-border-inspection-booths-raises-health-concerns <p>On an average day, some 200,000 people cross the border north and south between Tijuana and San Diego, making the San Ysidro port of entry the busiest in the world -- and for commuters, a frustrating one. The wait to enter the U.S. regularly approaches three hours or more.</p><p>Now, as part of an ongoing multi-year expansion project at the port, the U.S. government is more than doubling the number of inspection booths, with the hope of cutting that wait down to 30 minutes tops.</p> Mon, 09 Jul 2012 19:45:21 +0000 Adrian Florido 16670 at http://knau.org Plan For Southbound Border Inspection Booths Raises Health Concerns ICE Announces Change To 'Secure Communities' Deportation Policy http://knau.org/post/ice-announces-change-secure-communities-deportation-policy <h2 class="header">&nbsp;</h2><p class="datetime">Under a new federal policy, undocumented immigrants arrested for minor traffic violations may not be immediately flagged for deportation.</p> Tue, 01 May 2012 00:57:19 +0000 Adrian Florido 13157 at http://knau.org Report: Net Mexican Migration To The U.S. Falls To Zero http://knau.org/post/report-net-mexican-migration-us-falls-zero <h2 class="header">A <a href="http://www.pewhispanic.org/2012/04/23/net-migration-from-mexico-falls-to-zero-and-perhaps-less/"><u><font color="#0066cc">new Pew Hispanic Center study</font></u></a> finds that net migration to the U.S. from Mexico declined to zero between 2005 and 2010.</h2><div class="story_body" id="target-story_body_template"><p>About 1.4 million Mexican immigrants arrived in the U.S during that time. But just as many Mexicans returned to Mexico -- possibly more, the study found.</p> Mon, 23 Apr 2012 23:00:00 +0000 Adrian Florido 12886 at http://knau.org In Contraception Clash, Catholic Latinas Stray From Doctrine http://knau.org/post/contraception-clash-catholic-latinas-stray-doctrine <p>As the Saint Jude Catholic Church&#39;s sanctuary reverberated with the tunes of a Spanish language band shortly before mass on Sunday evening, Amparo Gonzalez, 56, sat in a nearby pew, thumbing through this week&rsquo;s church bulletin.</p> Thu, 16 Feb 2012 00:00:00 +0000 Adrian Florido 9265 at http://knau.org