Terry Ward http://knau.org en Memorial Service for Fallen 19 http://knau.org/post/memorial-service-fallen-19 <p>A memorial service to the fallen 19 Granite Mountain Hotshot crew was held in Prescott Valley Tuesday morning. &nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 09 Jul 2013 23:20:23 +0000 Terry Ward 34011 at http://knau.org Memorial Service for Fallen 19 Sequestration Could Affect Regional Airports http://knau.org/post/sequestration-could-affect-regional-airports <p>The federal budget cuts known as sequestration could begin affecting air traffic at smaller airports across the state, including one in northern Arizona. Arizona Public Radio's Terry Ward reports.</p><p> Fri, 08 Mar 2013 15:27:17 +0000 Terry Ward 28320 at http://knau.org NRA's LaPierre Fires Back At Universal Background Checks For Guns http://knau.org/post/nras-lapierre-fires-back-universal-background-checks-guns <p>National Rifle Association leader Wayne LaPierre was in Utah over the weekend pushing his case that the federal government wants universal background checks to make it easier for federal officials to seize firearms.</p><p> Mon, 25 Feb 2013 14:26:15 +0000 Terry Ward 27744 at http://knau.org Question 405 Would Spend $10 million to Thin Flag Forests http://knau.org/post/question-405-would-spend-10-million-thin-flag-forests <p>Two years ago last June, the Shultz Fire filled the skies north of Flagstaff with smoke. By the time it was controlled, 15,000 acres of Coconino National Forest land had burned including the ponderosa pines that would have absorbed much of the subsequent rainfall. A month later monsoon rains drenched the area Tue, 30 Oct 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Terry Ward 22508 at http://knau.org Question 405 Would Spend $10 million to Thin Flag Forests Weekend March Protests SB1070 http://knau.org/post/weekend-march-protests-sb1070 <p>Demonstrators marched to the Maricopa County jail in downtown Phoenix on Saturday in yet another protest of Arizona's illegal immigration law, SB1070. Mon, 24 Sep 2012 20:37:36 +0000 Terry Ward 20749 at http://knau.org US Fish and Wildlife to Kill Gray Wolf http://knau.org/post/us-fish-and-wildlife-kill-gray-wolf <p>The US Fish and Wildlife Service has signed an order calling for the shooting of a Mexican gray wolf.</p><p>The Agency says the female wolf has been killing too many cows in Southwestern New Mexico.</p><p>It&#39;s the first time in 5 years that the Fish and Wildlife Service will be killing a wolf due to behavior problems.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 10 Aug 2012 18:36:11 +0000 Terry Ward 18425 at http://knau.org Supreme Court Rules on Media Ownership http://knau.org/post/supreme-court-rules-media-ownership <p>The U.S. Supreme Court today&nbsp;let stand rules that place limits on ownership of broadcast outlets and newspapers in local markets.&nbsp;</p><p>The high court ruling means that one company is forbidden from owning both a major newspaper and a t.v. station in the same market. Tim McGuire, chair of the journalism department at Arizona State University says he is surprised by the decision.</p><p>McGuire says the most obvious example of dual ownership in Arizona is Gannett Corporation which owns the Arizona Republic and Channel 12.</p> Fri, 29 Jun 2012 21:46:35 +0000 Terry Ward 16270 at http://knau.org Supreme Court Rules on Media Ownership