Gillian Ferris http://knau.org en NAU Announces Finalist For Presidency http://knau.org/post/nau-announces-finalist-presidency <p>The Arizona Board of Regents today announced the final candidate in its search for the next president of Northern Arizona University. As Arizona Public Radio's Gillian Ferris reports, Rita Cheng, current Chancellor at Southern Illinois University is poised to take over the post.</p><p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 22:10:41 +0000 Gillian Ferris 48475 at http://knau.org NAU Announces Finalist For Presidency An Interview With Garrison Keillor, Host of A Prairie Home Companion http://knau.org/post/interview-garrison-keillor-host-prairie-home-companion <p>One of public radio's most popular&nbsp;shows is coming to Flagstaff. The cast of A Prairie Home Companion will perform a live national broadcast tomorrow from the amphitheater at Fort Tuthill County Park. Arizona Public Radio's Gillian Ferris had a chance to&nbsp;talk&nbsp;&nbsp;with the show's host, Garrison Keillor. He's on the road, making his way from Minnesota to Flagstaff, and celebrating 40 years with A Prairie Home Companion.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 30 May 2014 11:52:00 +0000 Gillian Ferris 48110 at http://knau.org An Interview With Garrison Keillor, Host of A Prairie Home Companion Meteorologist Lee Born On The Slide Fire Plume And Air Quality http://knau.org/post/meteorologist-lee-born-slide-fire-plume-and-air-quality <p>The Slide Fire burning in Oak Creek Canyon - and now on the outskirts of Flagstaff - is being fueled by dry conditions and strong winds. Many communities near the blaze are experiencing extremely smoky conditions and ash fallout. Arizona Public Radio's Gillian Ferris spoke with meteorologist Lee Born about the fire's effect on air quality.</p><p> Thu, 22 May 2014 13:33:31 +0000 Gillian Ferris 47745 at http://knau.org Meteorologist Lee Born On The Slide Fire Plume And Air Quality Hundreds Of Firefighters Battle The Slide Fire http://knau.org/post/hundreds-firefighters-battle-slide-fire <p>A massive wildfire continues to burn outside of Flagstaff this morning. As Arizona Public Radio's Gillian Ferris reports, hundreds of firefighters from across the nation have joined the fight.</p><p> Thu, 22 May 2014 11:10:51 +0000 Gillian Ferris 47733 at http://knau.org Hundreds Of Firefighters Battle The Slide Fire Pre-Evac Warning Issued For 2 Flagstaff Neighborhoods http://knau.org/post/pre-evac-warning-issued-2-flagstaff-neighborhoods <p>A wildfire burning in Oak Creek Canyon is now threatening the city of Flagstaff. Arizona Public Radio's Gillian Ferris reports that strong winds are pushing the fast-moving blaze up steep canyon terrain toward several wooded neighborhoods.</p><p> Wed, 21 May 2014 21:42:35 +0000 Gillian Ferris 47717 at http://knau.org Pre-Evac Warning Issued For 2 Flagstaff Neighborhoods Illegal Pot Farm Cleaned Up After Nearly A Decade http://knau.org/post/illegal-pot-farm-cleaned-after-nearly-decade <p>More than a ton of trash has been removed from the site of an illegal pot farm in the Fossil Springs Wilderness Area. As Arizona Public Radio's Gillian Ferris reports, it took almost 10 years for funding to come through for the clean-up.</p><p> Mon, 19 May 2014 19:42:40 +0000 Gillian Ferris 47584 at http://knau.org Illegal Pot Farm Cleaned Up After Nearly A Decade An Interview With Singer-Songwriter Neko Case http://knau.org/post/interview-singer-songwriter-neko-case <p>Singer-songwriter Neko Case&nbsp;is a rising star in both the punk rock and alt-country music scenes. Her work appears on many "Best Of" lists, including <em>Amazon.com's Music Editor's Picks </em>and <em>NPR's All Songs Considered. </em>And Case's latest album — <em>The Worse Things Get, The Harder I Fight, The Harder I Fight, The More I Love You — </em>was nominated for best alternative music album at this year's Grammy Awards. Neko Case will perform this Sunday in Flagstaff. From the road,&nbsp;she spoke with Arizona Public Radio's Gillian Ferris about the inspiration behind her music.</p><p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 11:07:00 +0000 Gillian Ferris 45867 at http://knau.org An Interview With Singer-Songwriter Neko Case Brain Food: The Cultural Impacts Of Climate Change On American Indian Tribes http://knau.org/post/brain-food-cultural-impacts-climate-change-american-indian-tribes <p>American Indian tribes are among those most impacted by climate change. That's according to Ann Marie Chischilly, executive director of the Institute of Tribal Environmental Professionals, or ITEP, at Northern Arizona University.</p><p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 16:39:17 +0000 Gillian Ferris 44867 at http://knau.org Brain Food: The Cultural Impacts Of Climate Change On American Indian Tribes Congress Planning New Ways To Pay For Catastrophic Wildfires http://knau.org/post/congress-planning-new-ways-pay-catastrophic-wildfires <p>Congress has begun an effort to change the way the U.S. pays for the cost of battling catastrophic wildfires. Arizona Public Radio's Gillian Ferris reports.</p><p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 21:32:40 +0000 Gillian Ferris 44739 at http://knau.org Congress Planning New Ways To Pay For Catastrophic Wildfires 'Chairs For Change' Brings Awareness To Educating Girls Worldwide http://knau.org/post/chairs-change-brings-awareness-educating-girls-worldwide <p>Tomorrow night, the Coconino Center for the Arts in Flagstaff will host an art exhibit and auction called "Chairs for Change." It will feature an array of chairs that have been artistically re-purposed by students at the Flagstaff Arts and Leadership Academy. And, while each chair will have a unique look, they will all represent the same theme: the movement to educate girls worldwide. Arizona Public Radio's Gillian Ferris reports.</p><p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 12:45:29 +0000 Gillian Ferris 44288 at http://knau.org 'Chairs For Change' Brings Awareness To Educating Girls Worldwide