Zac Ziegler http://knau.org en GOP Plans Rally in Yavapai Cnty Where Dems Don't Have Much Presence http://knau.org/post/gop-plans-rally-yavapai-cnty-where-dems-dont-have-much-presence <p>Yavapai County Republicans have planned a rally with some big names this evening in Prescott.&nbsp; Mon, 05 Nov 2012 22:26:22 +0000 Zac Ziegler 22873 at http://knau.org Chino Valley Uses Volunteers to Keep Bus System Costs Down http://knau.org/post/chino-valley-uses-volunteers-keep-bus-system-costs-down <p>Like many small cities and towns across Arizona, the area around Prescott generally lacks public transportation. Tue, 23 Oct 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Zac Ziegler 22169 at http://knau.org Chino Valley Uses Volunteers to Keep Bus System Costs Down Prescribed Burns Scheduled for Prescott Area http://knau.org/post/prescribed-burns-scheduled-prescott-area <p>Two different 200-acre prescribed burns are scheduled in Prescott National Forest this week. Mon, 08 Oct 2012 21:16:01 +0000 Zac Ziegler 21450 at http://knau.org New Brewery Kickstarted in Prescott http://knau.org/post/new-brewery-kickstarted-prescott <p>Just north of Prescott’s historic downtown Courthouse Plaza sits Arizona’s newest brewery.</p><p>Granite Mountain Brewing Company opened its doors about a month ago.</p><p>The room smells of fresh hops and barley.</p><p>Just behind the large, hand-carved wooden bar is the brewery’s three-barrel brewing equipment.</p><p>If starting a new business during a recession seems a bit risky, it didn’t stop this brewery’s owners.</p><p>In fact, they saw some advantages.</p><p>Amanda Richardson and Michael Stanger are two of the brewery’s co-founders:</p> Wed, 19 Sep 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Zac Ziegler 20469 at http://knau.org New Brewery Kickstarted in Prescott Final Results are in for the Democrats in CD4 http://knau.org/post/final-results-are-democrats-cd4 <p>The Democratic Party now knows who will run against Republican Paul Gosar in November. Tue, 11 Sep 2012 20:23:07 +0000 Zac Ziegler 20095 at http://knau.org How to Repair a Fire-Damaged Forest http://knau.org/post/how-repair-fire-damaged-forest <p>When this summer’s monsoons hit, officials from the Prescott National Forest worried. Thu, 06 Sep 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Zac Ziegler 19712 at http://knau.org How to Repair a Fire-Damaged Forest Plans to Rebuild Prescott's Whiskey Row Approved http://knau.org/post/plans-rebuild-prescotts-whiskey-row-approved <p dir="LTR">City preservation officials in Prescott have approved a design to replace the Whiskey Row buildings destroyed by last May’s fire. Mon, 20 Aug 2012 19:44:56 +0000 Zac Ziegler 18953 at http://knau.org Plans to Rebuild Prescott's Whiskey Row Approved NAU's Lopez Lomong advances to the Finals http://knau.org/post/naus-lopez-lomong-advances-finals <p>Former N-A-U track star Lopez Lomong has advanced to the finals of the men&rsquo;s 5,000 meter Olympic race in London.&nbsp;</p><p>Lomong turned in a time of 13:26.16 in his semifinal heat, finishing in fourth place.&nbsp;</p><p>The top 5 finishers in each heat were guaranteed a spot in the finals,</p><p>Five more spots went to the fastest runners who did not finish in their race&rsquo;s top five.</p><p>Lomong&rsquo;s time is 15 seconds slower than his personal best and 2012 world leading time, posted in April.</p> Wed, 08 Aug 2012 22:23:50 +0000 Zac Ziegler 18297 at http://knau.org NAU's Diego Estrada is Running for Gold for Mexico http://knau.org/post/naus-diego-estrada-running-gold-mexico <p>It&rsquo;s a typical sunny Flagstaff day, and Diego Estrada takes a break from training to visit a favorite taqueria.</p><p>While many Olympians spend their days focusing every second on their sport, Estrada takes a slightly different approach.</p> Mon, 30 Jul 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Zac Ziegler 17590 at http://knau.org NAU's Diego Estrada is Running for Gold for Mexico NAU's Lopez Lomong is Heading to the Olympics http://knau.org/post/naus-lopez-lomong-heading-olympics <p>The Olympics are just about to get underway, but Lopez Lomong is not in London yet.</p><p>He&rsquo;s returned to Flagstaff in order to finish his training.</p><p>Lopez says Flagstaff is the place that made him a world-class athlete, and he&rsquo;s bringing some of his US teammates with him.</p><p>&ldquo;It&rsquo;s like I&rsquo;m still a student here.&nbsp; I still run the same trails, they&rsquo;re still the same distances.&nbsp; That&rsquo;s why I&rsquo;m bringing some of my friends, my teammates, the love of what Flagstaff has to offer to the world.&rdquo;</p> Thu, 26 Jul 2012 19:11:35 +0000 Zac Ziegler 17569 at http://knau.org NAU's Lopez Lomong is Heading to the Olympics